An Annoucement; In 120 Days…

Dear Friends;

I have an announcement to make! I am deeply excited about it and I must spill the beans somewhere! And, since the important people in my family know (hi mom! hi granny and papa! hi sisters and Karen!) that read this blog, I can now share with you the wondrous news 😀 I was considering keeping it a secret…but we all know how I am with secrets, not to mention it’s just WAY to big of a deal to NOT talk about on my blog, since over the next 120 days it will be on my mind constantly.

Still haven’t guessed yet? That’s okay, I’m about to tell you…drum roll please…

On July 23rd, 2010, Matt and I are getting hitched! FOR REALZ THIS TIME! I know I’ve talked about it in the past, I know I’ve set tentitive dates that have fallen through for one reason or another but this one is pretty much set in stone. We are determined to have our way. This summer is the perfect time to do it, because we will be debt free, able to pay for it in cash.

I know what I want and I’m sticking to it; Matt and I are going to be married at 7:30pm (so the sun will just be beginning to set) at the old wood mill on the beach of the property (the land that Matt’s family owns). It overlooks the lake and I’m sure it’s going to be beautiful as the sun sets! We’re going to do finger foods afterwards, and have a wee dance to do the traditional first dance/father daughter dance/mother son dance, then there will be dancing in the mill and partying all about the beach 🙂 I for one plan on bringing a change of clothes so that I don’t ruin my dress.

My wedding colours aren’t really set in stone, what I’d like is something that matches the sunset…I’m thinking something along the lines of this:

Pretty, eh? I think so. I still don’t know if we’re going to go with black for the bridesmaid dresses (I love the contrast against the lilies and irises), or if we will be able to find purple dresses that won’t look too bad…we’ll see though.

As for me…well I’m not going to spend a lot on my dress (or this wedding, for that matter) at all. I’m going to hit up the off-the-rack, last season sales in hopes of finding something under 300 dollars. I don’t want to spend over, since it’s a dress I will (probably) never wear again. I do have a few ideas of what I’m looking for, although it depends of course what the dresses look like when I try them on…

Wedding planning is definitely in the go. I’m crazy to have taken this all on, but I know I’ll have tons of wonderful help from my sisters, Nat, and probably Karen too 😉 she doesn’t know it yet. Reading blogs is a GREAT way of finding out things, eh Karen? Tee hee.

This is definitely by far my favourite…although I’m sure it’s EXPENSIVE. Hopefully I can find something like it for WAY cheaper!

The other dress style I was looking at is right here, unfortunately it won’t let me save it to my computer under the right file to upload here…so you’ll have to click on that link to see it.

So yeah, that’s why I’ve been avoiding my blog and twitter for the most part. I knew I’d spill the beans on one or the other and I wanted my family to know first. Everyone is excited and happy for me, which makes me happy! I dislike making other people unhappy in my quest to be happy.

Happy Bride Kisses,

Me!

P.S. I have no idea how to plan a wedding, but I’m sure it will be fun! Ya know, if I don’t go all bride-zilla on everyone…

49 Comments

Filed under adventures, changes, family, good times, growing up, linkage, milestones, pictures, project; wedding, rainbows and butterflies, telling stories, the good, the random, things I love, this is love, this is my life, uncensored, what I'm feeling

49 responses to “An Annoucement; In 120 Days…

  1. gemini

    aww congrats!

  2. OMG! Congrats!! That’s great news.
    Don’t forget to ENJOY the planning 😉

  3. ooh how exciting for you!
    i LOVE the first dress
    perfect for a beach wedding

    but the second would make a great “trash the dress” photo shoot

    i planned and made and did everything for my wedding
    and i loved every minute of it
    so don’t worry about biting off more than you can shew
    just remember to enjoy yourself, planning and wedding

    and you should totally write yur own vows
    i wrote my whole ceremony
    and got SO MANY LAUGHS

    i promised to listen to him talk about his golf game
    he promised to hold my purse when i try on shoes

    lots of hugs in your general direction!

    • haha the second WOULD make a great trash the dress photo shoot, which means if I DID decide to party in it..well it would be perfect lol.

      Those are cute vows lol. We’ll talk to the officiant and see what we can do 😉 thanks!

  4. WOOHOO! I’m so happy for you guys! Sounds like a wonderful plan.

    Hey – check this place out for dresses, http://www.elegantgowns.com/store/catalog/wedding-dresses

    I got my dress there, it was designer and I paid $400.

    Beautiful dress choices too!!

  5. Shruthi

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! This is such wonderful news!!!! 🙂

    And I say purple for the bridesmaids dresses. Not the weird Barney purple, the really rich, deep version.

    Everything looks lovely. Can’t be of help with anything else though, my wedding will have to be in a saree 🙂

    Congrats again. I wish you all the happiness and joy in the universe!!!

    Shruthi

  6. Sarah

    If you’re looking for inexpensive gowns, there’s always David’s Bridal. You’ll have to drive to the States, but they have $99 sales a lot of the time and you’re able to take your dress with you when you buy it as well, which is great if you’re on a short timeline. I went there and my friend did too and we both loved our dresses.

    • Hmmm, that’s something to consider! Although, I’m not one for long distance driving but maybe some of my family members would want to tag along… 😉

  7. bluepaintred

    congratulations you two…or should I say three!

    Will nolan be doing anything in terms of wedding involvement? He will be walking by then, he could be a wee tiny ring bearer, but someone would prolly have to hold his hand and direct him down the isle LOL

    • I haven’t decided yet, he’s a little young but if I can find a cute enough wagon and white pillow than perhaps I will have him pulled down the asile as our little ring barrier hehe.

  8. Yay-yay-yay!! I’m so happy for you!

    I love the first dress; it would be perfect for a beach wedding. The second dress is pretty, too, but I think it would end up getting messed up on the beach.

    I also love the bridesmaid gowns. If you decide to go with purple, try a deep, near-black purple.

    Yay for set dates1

  9. Congratulations! So pleased and happy for you. Excited to follow along on all your plans. And …I LOVE that dress, too!

  10. Emily

    YAY, CONGRATS!!!! Great news! I can’t wait to hear about your planning, maybe I can learn something for when it’s my turn one day 🙂 A beach wedding sounds beautiful!

  11. How exciting! I love the themed idea of sunset dresses. Congratulations to you and Matt. Have you told Nolan yet? 😉

  12. T

    Congratulations! I LOVE the idea of the sunset themed flowers. And simplicity. Especially love that idea too.

  13. I’m always behind on blogs lately. Grrr.

    Anyway, YAY and CONGRATULATIONS to you guys! My favorite flowers are tiger lilies (orange Asiatic lilies), and that’s what I carried in my wedding (colors were black and white with a tiny hint of orange here and there). I am excited to hear the news, and I love the idea of doing the color theme around the sunset. That will be a timeless idea that I don’t think you’ll ever regret. 😀 (Also the simple idea. We went with that, and I have never regretted having a small, simple, tasteful wedding over a huge, elaborate affair. You are going to have so much fun planning this!)

  14. Litzia

    Congratulations!!! I always wanted a beach wedding nice idea!

  15. YAY! Congrats in advance!!!

  16. I think you guys should have the traditional first dance be a break dancing routine. Now THAT would be bad-assed. YEEEAHHHH.

    Also, congratulations. 🙂

  17. Blaine

    Congratulations! That is great!!!! 😀

    I can send you so many suggestions, but instead of doing it here, I am going to try to compile it into a proper, organized (readable and literate) fashion and most likely FB mail it. lol

    That is so exciting. 🙂

    Oh, and check eBay for possibly inexpensive dresses! Just know that generally, alterations can run around $500 if done by a professional seamstress, and that seamstresses that do alterations fro bridal shops might not accept a dress that wasn’t purchased there, so if you buy a dress online or used or in any other form than from a shop, you might want to find a seamstress that can do any needed alterations first. Or a Grandma that knows how to sew properly, too, would work. 😉

    I love the sunset idea, and those flowers are gorgeous!

    • You could always email it to me, my email address is on my Facebook info page!!! 🙂

      I have to begin my dress hunt soon, so that I can find something for cheap so I will!

      And thanks 🙂

  18. Congrats hon!!! How wonderful ~ I wish you all the best in the world!!!!

    As for the dress, please don’t rule out second-hand ~ you could get something that cost the original owner tons more than you would have paid for it~ and wouldn’t you rather spend that money on something else? Like the honeymoon 😉

    And colors? I’m all for black or purple ~ spesh purple

  19. Congrats!

    Another thought would be to hit up department stores and check out Prom dresses (it’s the right season for it). Back in my day (omg was that a decade ago? ::faints::) there were a lot of white ones, too.

    One more thing: a lot of bride magazines (I know martha stewart, specifically) have wedding-planning checklists in them.

    • The Knot had a great check list that I am using, although I’m not partial to one or the other!!! 🙂 I’m just trying to keep things fun and not stressful 🙂 and thank you!

  20. RubyTuesday

    !!!!!!! Wow congrats!! That is soo exciting I would not be able to make it til July, haha

    I know a bunch of people are probs giving you a ton of advice so I will only say I hope there will be pics up here after of Nolan in a little suit! Those are so adorable with the little jackets and little ties and tiny shoes hahah

    Keep us updated- you are going to have so much fun! Love the colors

  21. Natalija

    Yay!!! Congratulations!!!

    And I definitely also think that a deep purple is the way to go–there’s just something so… Dusk-y about that colour. Oh, and are you hoping to hire a photographer? Because something I’m always hearing is how much of a blur the ceremony and all was for the couple and how happy they are for the photographs, so it might be something to look into (even if it’s just a student who will do it for less money).

    But yes, congrats!!!

    • Sarcastica

      Thank you! I agree, I love deep purple, a rich deep purple would be fabulous…we just have to find dresses in that colour! I’m thinking about hitting up a prom store, heh. I do already have a photographer, my lovely friend Mandy (http://mandysphotographica.wordpress.com), she will definitely take a TONS of pictures…plus so many of my other friends and family members never leave their houses without their cameras! We will definitely have a ton of pictures 🙂

  22. Pingback: Sarcastica » Not to Panic…But

  23. Pingback: The cream will expire two days before my wedding… | The Bottle Chronicles