#twittertattour baaaby

I’m jumping aboard this bandwagon that Kristi started with the #twittertattour because I love tattoos and happen to have a few of them myself. So here we go..

This was my first ever tattoo. I got it in January of 2008; after months of trying to talk my parents into it. I was 18, yes, but their opinion mattered to me and I didn’t want to go behind there back. Afterwards though, I was hooked. It did feel like he was tattooing my uterus, but I’ll take it cause the end result was sweet! (Even after pregnancy!). An artist at my dad’s friend’s shop did this one.

Oh gosh…there aren’t any words to describe this tattoo. I’ve wanted an ankh tattoo since I was in high school (I used to draw them ALL over my notebooks…rebel)…however, I let someone with no tattooing talent and a tattoo gun do it. It didn’t cost me a cent, but it’s costing lots of money to get removed (I’ve had only one session though and look at how much it’s faded!). I need to get it removed because the person did it in a place you’re not supposed to tattoo (the fold of your wrist) and the ink bled and my only options were to keep getting it fixed (and having the ink do the same damn thing every time) or get it removed and put it elsewhere. I’m putting it elsewhere, but focusing on getting it gone right now.

[note: it is very difficult to take a picture of your back by yourself.] This tattoo I got last year by the same person who did the ankh. I presented her with a messy drawing I found on the internet and asked her to make it look neater. She tattooed the damn thing right on my back without tweaking it at all. It looked a hell of a lot worse before Chops, my dad’s friend and tattoo artist/tattoo shop owner fixed it. He evened out the lines as best as he could and pumped back more colour into it. It still needs a little bit of work, but I do love that tattoo. I’ve always wanted a tattoo of the moon, sun and stars.

This tattoo I got in the summer of 2008, done by an ex-friend of Matt and mine. He was a fairly decent tattoo artist; and it represents my mom and I. I am the butterfly, and she is the flower. It represents how I often fly away to do my own thing, but always come back šŸ™‚ Cheesy, I know.

And there you have it folks, all of my tattoos! Now to show you the one that I’m going to get as soon as we get a little extra money coming in (and as soon as I pick where I want to put it; either on my left shoulder or my left leg).

Edit: I’ve booked myself an appointment to get my Nolan tattoo!! August 7th baby, can’t wait!!!

15 Comments

Filed under ink, me me ME, pictures

15 responses to “#twittertattour baaaby

  1. Miss.Words

    love em. i hear ya about bad tattoo’s i went to a reputable place and mine looks like shit thankfully its only the outline so i am hoping to get it filled in the touched up in a year or so. then get Tristan’s foot prints going up my ankle with his initials.

  2. I like the new place šŸ™‚ And I can’t wait to see how your new tattoo turns out. I love the design. I have 3 tattoos and I want to get a 4th….I just have no idea what I want.

    • I actually puff my chest out everytime someone says “I like the new space” – because I am both lame and pathetic šŸ™‚ but I worked HARD to make it somewhat pretty ’round here šŸ˜‰ haha! So I’m glad that you like it!!!

      I LOVE tattoos, I have limited spots on my body where I can put them though. This may or may not be a good thing….depends on how you look at it (my wallet says GOOD THING and my addiction says BAD THING). I am completely excited to get my next one!

      I started with an idea; I wanted a tattoo for Nolan, and I wanted it to represent his childhood etc…we read Where The Wild Things Are ALL THE TIME, so it fits! And, considering he is my wild thing that bites me ALL THE TIME, it fits even more!! So, what ideas do you have? (What do you want it to represent etc?)

  3. I have no tattoos, because I am a huge baby. Also, I have personal space issues, so I would need the tattoo to be shot at me from across the room . . . paint-ball gun style. And then I would get none of the subtlety that would be required to tattoo onto my body the only thing I have ever considered having tattooed . . .

    Scenes from Edward Gorey’s Gashlycrumb Tinies.

    LOVE those illustrations. That would be awesome.

    • WOAH, that would totally be awesome! You should do it, personal space issues and all! I’m sure if you get a hot tattoo artist, it might be easier to handle, no? Cause I have personal space issues with unattractive tattoo artists too. šŸ˜‰

  4. I love the butterfly and flower tattoo. The symbolism is so sweet and creative. I don’t think it’s cheesy at all. šŸ™‚

  5. I love your tatty’s. My favorites, is the rose (because yeah, I was with you! lol) and the one that you got for like you and your mom. I think it’s totally cute. šŸ™‚

    Where are you getting the one for Nolan? (not sure if you said where, so humor me. lol). What really sucks for me, is Calvin and I are going to be getting tattoo’s for our little one (after I am done breastfeeding) but I have no where else I want to get tattoo’ed, so I have to decide what I am going to do, and I am going to be designing this one too so its more special then any tattoo that I already have. lol.

    • I’m trying to decide between my left shoulder blade and my left calve. I’m thinking left calve because there’s a little bit more to work with there lmao. Plus my shoulders are SO boney!

      And I can’t wait to see/hear of your idea for the wee one.

  6. i absolutely LOVE your Nolan tattoo design!!! that’s fantastic and although i don’t know you in person, through your blog it seems to fit perfectly šŸ™‚

    i have one tattoo and i think it will have to stay that way (i know, i know, they say you can never have just one) because there’s nowhere else i would consider putting it. shame…

    • Thank you!!!

      What is your tattoo of and where is it? Unless, you know, it’s one of “those” tattoos that you don’t want to mention, in which case don’t tell me ;P

      • lol! it’s of a lotus flower (really simple design, with green and pink and a bit of yellow), and i suppose it is “one of those” tattoos – on my “lower abdomen.” tmi possibly? it was the only place that was in the center of my body (i have a weird symetry/balance thing when it comes to these things – when i got my nose pierced i got the cartilage of the ear on the other side pierced so it would balance it out…in my strange mind) but still able to be kept covered no matter what i was wearing. so people can only see it when I want them to .

  7. It is SO difficult to take a picture of your own back.

Leave a Reply

