Mentions

I feel really honored to be mentioned as a highlight of Tara’s 7 Young Mommy Blogs You’ll Adore. Seriously? It made my life. I’ve been a huge fan of Tara’s since discovering The Young Mommy Life; I love reading her stories and I completely support her mission: speaking the honest truths about being a young mom, and giving other young mom’s a voice. So often we see magazine articles about successful mothers but they are almost always in their 30s. We don’t really get to hear about the young moms, the one’s struggling not to get lumped into the negative light that most of the “teen moms” portrayed on reality TV shows like 16 and Pregnant and Teen Mom. Hell, even The Secret Life Of The American Teenager makes me grind my teeth in annoyance. Contrary to the light society sheds on young moms, we don’t all dump our motherhood responsibilities on someone else’s shoulder.

Some of us don’t have it easy, it’s true, and some of us do get help from family members. For example, we’re living with family so that Matt can go to school and we can save money to get out of debt {which we basically are} and better our futures. But I assure you I don’t dump my parenting responsibilities at my step MIL’s feet so that I can go out and be a 21-year-old.

Today I was featured in the Spotlight over at The Young Mommy Life; check it out!

I also stumbled across a new read: MomDelicious! Reading SweetAl’s post about her Father’s Day resolution was basically like having someone voice several thoughts I’ve been having lately.

We all know Matt is the polar opposite of me. He is strong where I am weak, and I am strong where he is weak. We complete each other in the literal sense of the word. He lifts me when I am too weak to stand on my own, and I do the same for him.

Our relationship is far from perfect though, even if we complete each other. We have our disagreements and we get annoyed with each other over sometimes really silly and pointless things. I am absolutely famous for walking away in the middle of a disagreement after making a bitchy, snarky remark. I am always right, I always need the last word…or at least, that’s how I was subconsciously thinking.

Since being made aware of that little…trait…of mine, {when Matt asked me why I always walked away in the middle of a disagreement after saying something hurtful} I’ve tried to kick it to the curb.

Tried, TRYING. My snarky inner bitch can be a…well, bitch.

But that’s okay, because Matt forgives and forgets way easier than I do. Matt is so sweet, he can’t hold a grudge to save his life {or at least, not when it comes to me anyway}. I’m pro at holding grudges.

Anyway, I believe working at your relationship and working on yourself is something we all have to do; something that all parents, no matter what age, need to be concious about. And so, I try. I try to make changes that I know will better myself and my relationship. The happier we are individually, the happier our kids are.

I think we’re doing a good job, but there’s always room for improvement, right?

And so, I will continue to strive for happiness!

{And you should really check out those blogs I mentioned, especially if you’re a young mama or mama-to-be. They are great sites and great resources}.

5 Comments

Filed under challenges, changes, discoveries, good times, growing up, linkage, little moments, mama musings, Nolan, oh my life, reflecting, thoughts, uncensored, updates, what I'm feeling, writing

5 responses to “Mentions

  1. tmpringl

    What a great point you make about always making improvements in your relationship. Isn’t it difficult sometimes? I find myself trying not to do just like you do, and make some type of snarky remark and girl, I S-T-R-U-G-G-L-E! But it’s lovely when you find someone who doesn’t hold your faults against you. 🙂

  2. “Anyway, I believe working at your relationship and working on yourself is something we all have to do; something that all parents, no matter what age, need to be concious about. And so, I try.”

    … you’re so mature about everything. i love how you’re always so honest and real about stuff.

  3. Congrats on being spotlighted! You’re an awesome mom and deserve to be recognized!

    All relationships take work, and we all have our faults. The important thing is to keep working at it.

Leave a Reply

