Just a moment of your time…

When I started blogging, my intent was basically just to write out all my teenage angst and the injustice of the world. {Seriously, if you don’t believe me feel free to go back in my archives}. I blogged only for me {and that’s clear}.

Now, my intent has kind of change a little bit. I am still blogging first and foremost for me, because blogging is way cheaper than therapy and wine. Or both. Second, I blog because I’m hoping that by sharing bits of my life, I’ll be helping out other young mom’s in my situation.

Young mom’s don’t really get any love. We don’t really get featured in magazines and I haven’t seen any of us successfully “up there” with the big fish. I’m not saying I want to be up there with the big fish, I’d just like to see someone who is a young mom and struggling up there, you know? Or a young mom who did struggle, who’s dug her way out of whatever situation she was in and is now successful. That will be me one day, hopefully in the near future. I’m pulling myself up this mountain by my nails, with help from Matt and several of our family members. I’ll be going back to school as soon as humanly possible to get an education and a career and then, I will be able to support my family right along side of Matt. Right now, my focus is my son and my soon-to-be husband…our family. My focus is to help Matt get through school, so that we can afford my education.

But meanwhile, I’m still making lists, taking names and kicking ass. I have goals and hopes and dreams – I will get there, even if it takes a while.

Being a mom is hard work, no matter what your age. As a young mom, I experience a lot of looks. I’ve heard people whisper things like “I hope she’s babysitting, she’s far too young to be a mom,” their voices dripping with judgement and disapproval.

I am a good mom, even if I’m ‘too young’ in the eyes of many people. I make sure all of my son’s needs are meant. I don’t unload my parenting responsibilities on the shoulders’ of other people so I can go out and be a 21-year-old. I love being a mom, and yes it’s stressful and it isn’t always pretty and I’ve had my fair share of crazy mama moments, but you know what? I’m not the only one.

And Matt? He’s a good dad. He may not have been ready to be a dad, as I wasn’t ready to be a mom, but he’s amazing at it. A natural. He does everything for Nolan with a huge smile on his face. He enjoys being a pops so much, and I love that he loves this. I am lucky, I am fortunate. Things could have gone a lot differently for me.

Despite having a partner who is fully involved with his son and fully invested in us as a family {who loves me, despite all my faults}, we still have our struggles. I am fortunate in that we can face them together.

I made an account with Top Mommy Blogs, hoping to get another mom voice out there…the mom voice of a young one, like me. I like to think {and hope that I’m right in thinking…} that my blog is different from a lot of blogs out there. For one, I don’t know too many blogs by young moms. That’s because they aren’t really out there, you know? So I wanted to get mine out there, in hopes that maybe I could correct society’s view of ‘young moms’, or help out other young moms in situations similar to mine.

And I figured, this might be fun.

So, if you really enjoy my writing style, my stories, my adventures…could you perhaps take a moment of your time to vote for me? Just putting it out there, to see what happens.

Thanks guys!

8 Comments

Filed under adventures, challenges, discoveries, growing up, I don't know, I'm a STAR!, just thoughts, linkage, love love love, mama musings, Nolan, oh baby baby, on young motherhood, reflecting, self image, the random, this crazy train, uncensored, updates, writing

8 responses to “Just a moment of your time…

  1. I think you’re very brave and responsible for keeping your baby. As you said, it is hard at any age but must be especially hard when you’ve not had a career and time to build a foundation first.

  2. unfortunately there are far too many young mommies who weren’t ready to be moms and who dont’ embrace their role in motherhood as gracefully and happily as you do.

    that’s what i love about you- you don’t dump any of your responsibilities on friends or family members. you work your butt off as a mom and from what i can tell? you’re good at it. you wake up in the morning, you feed your baby, you take him with you everywhere you go. you don’t dump him somewhere to be watched so you can get your stuff done every day. you don’t leave him with JDC so you can go out and party and be 21. you made your decisions, and you’re so mature about it.

    what pisses me off is seeing young women who actually have the opportunity to be moms (a blessing not all women have), and they take all of it for granted. they dump the kid at their folks house, go out partying, keep sleeping with random people, have no sense of family, etc… it makes me sad that these babies we’re born into such a toxic life.

    you’ve done everything in your power to give your son a roof over his head, food in his belly, and a loving mommy and daddy who would give him the world- and you have. nolan is luckier than most- and that’s why i have so much respect for you not only as a mommy, but as a good human with good values.

    if anyone deserves to be recognized as a (young) top mommy blogger, it’s you.

  3. Kathy Rambow

    I was a young mom, I had my first child at 17 and believe me it was very very hard. I went back to school when I was 21 and completed and got a 2 year degree. I am now 45 and like to think I am pretty successful, married, I have two other children and own a house, two dogs and 3 cats. I would probably not have changed what happened to me (other than marrying my first childs father, but thats another story). Just remember that when my mother had me when she was 20 (and married for a year) in 1965 and that was not considered young. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You definitely sound successful! Congrats! I can’t wait to get there, & look back & be proud of it all. I am proud of my accomplishments now, but you probably know what I mean right? lol.

      It IS strange that in 2010, people tend to give you odd looks when you say “I’m a 21 year old mom”, or “I’m getting married”. I don’t think I’m that young, but to a lot of people I suppose I am!

      Thank you for stopping by! T’was great hearing from you!

  4. I’ll definitely be voting if i cant figure out that dang site. lol. You are awesome! Don’t forget it ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

