Just, Chill…

I’m proud of myself for today. I know I was pissed off and annoyed, but I didn’t let that ‘one bad thing’ {or, I suppose in this case, a series of bad things} compound until my mood was dire and horrible. I mean, I was edgy and irritated, but getting out of the house helped. It helped Nolan too, he was bored and sick of playing inside. When he gets bored, he goes after the plant dirt or drops all his toys downstairs.

Today was hot and sticky, and the sun was hidden behind clouds for the majority of the day. So the hot sticky heat didn’t help my mood. But there was, however, a gentle, slightly cooling breeze that felt far better than the sticky heat of the house. We don’t have air conditioning, so…yeah.

I ran some errands with Nolan; I had to drop off my ODSP income card and pay the deposit on the flowers. Unfortunately, the flower shop was closed because the owners were ‘celebrating Canada Day’, so I’m going to have to run that errand tomorrow before we leave.

We also went to Walmart, and I bite the bullet and bought an $18 stroller. It’s super cute and packs away really nice, so I can bring my play pen, stroller and fit the high chair and all my bags into the trunk. Awesome, huh?

After Walmart, I decided to take Nolan to the waterfront. I wanted to go swimming but Matt has me all scared about The Itch, so we didn’t. We stayed in the grassy area of a nice garden that overlooks the waterfront. It was beautiful. Nolan had a blast playing in the grass and touching the monuments.

We stayed there, taking in the view, relaxing and watching the waves roll in, for about 20 minutes. We would have stayed longer, but it was nearing 5pm and we were both getting hungry.

When we came home, it felt even hotter inside the house, so Nolan got to strip down to just a diaper. He absolutely loves walking around slapping his belly, it’s hilarious. The nickname my Granny used to have for us, Skinny well-feds, comes to mind whenever I look at his little pot belly.

I am getting super excited for our trip down South tomorrow. I’m still nervous, of course, but excited. I realized that it really doesn’t matter how long we take. If I need to stop, I’m sure Nolan would have no problem at all getting out of the car seat to play in the grass. And it will be fun for the both of us, more bonding time. Even though we get to spend every single day together, this will be something different. A learning experience, for us both.

So, I’m not putting a time frame down on our arrival. We’ll get there when we get there; it depends on how I feel and how Nolan feels.

I am excited to see everyone! I can’t wait to hang out with all of my family. Thursday will be super fun; Kate and I are planning on taking Nolan to the beach and water play park. I have no idea how he’s going to react to that, but he loves baths…so, here’s hoping! I will have my camera on hand to take tons of pictures, of course.

I was considering bringing my laptop with me on the trip…but I’ve decided against it. I’ll only have wireless at one location where I’ll be staying {Kimmer’s house} and in any case, I don’t want to spend my free time sitting on my laptop! I can do that at home πŸ™‚ So, you’ll all have to wait until we get home for in-depth posts. I’ll probably update here and there from my lovely BlackBerry though. I am addicted to blogging and twittering, after all. πŸ˜‰

Now, I need to go to bed and get a good nights’ sleep. I have a long drive tomorrow!

4 Comments

Filed under adventures, annoyances, challenges, family, figuring it out, good times, growing up, just thoughts, linkage, little moments, love love love, mama musings, Nolan, oh baby baby, oh my life, reflecting, the random, this crazy train, tidbits, updates, what I'm feeling, writing

4 responses to “Just, Chill…

  1. Tamara

    have a good trip!

  2. Have a safe trip, you! If you need me just bbm me πŸ˜‰

    I know I’ve been away lately, but life she is a crazy one…

  3. Gotta love having a Blackberry πŸ˜‰ What is “The Itch”? Sounds like some icky nickname for an STD HAHA!

Leave a Reply

