The Wedding: Part Two; The Ceremony

I had absolutely no idea what the hall looked like until I walked down the aisle with my dad. Nat {my sister-in-law} had taken the decorating reins from my tired, clueless hands, and wanted everything to be a surprise. She did an amazing job, when I walked in the hall was decorated with candle light, white twinkle lights, and black {which came off as purple} spot lights. It was intimate and romantic, and made me almost instantly comfortable.

One of the things that I had been looking forward to was watching Matt as he looked at me for the first time, but I missed that because klutzy me tripped coming in and tried to steady myself by doing the wrong thing ~ looking down at my feet.

Walking down the aisle with my dad…
{haha; I look like I’m going to run at him or something…and yes, I nearly did…}

Even still, his face when I finally saw it was priceless. I stepped up to stand beside him while the wedding officiate asked “who gives this woman away?” and my dad said “I do,” then placed my hand in Matt’s and went to sit down.

Matt and I were both extremely nervous, and surprisingly; he showed it more than I did. His hands were trembling in mine as we exchanged vows. The vows that we exchanged;

I take you to be my partner, to have and to hold from this day forward. I give you my never ending love and devotion. I promise to be true to you, to cherish you and to share my thoughts, hopes and dreams with you. I look forward to spending the rest of my life with you, my best friend. I will love you forever. I give you this ring as a symbol of my vows and with all that I am and all that I have, I honor you.

We couldn’t have chosen more fitting vows.

After I struggled to get Matt’s ring on, and after the rings were blessed by the officiate, we sealed our marriage vows with a kiss…which I apparently went for too quickly and eagerly, heh. You know me though! Quick and eager {and wow, that sounds absolutely WRONG}.

{this photo was actually taken by one of Matt’s friend’s, but I think it shows my “eagerness” and it amuses me sooo yah, hehe}.

We chose to do the Rose Ceremony, because I wanted to add a little spice to our ceremony and also, I wanted a rose 😉 it was also beautiful. Our ceremony was over entirely too fast, but that was a good thing, I suppose. We didn’t want our ceremony to drag on too long and bore people!

{I LOVE this picture Mandy snagged as we walked out of the hall…Matt’s clearly pumped we’re finally married}.

The wedding party after the ceremony! Pretty good looking wedding party, if I do say so myself…

Mandy and her mom had a great idea to get a picture of everyone who attended our ceremony, and what a great idea it was! I can look back and see all the people who watched Matt and I exchange vows, and know that I am loved and spoiled by every single one of those people who came.

Matt honestly looks ridiculously handsome in his tux and top hat. I told him we should make this a tradition…every year for our wedding anniversary, he should rent a top hat just because he looks so awesome in it! Heh.

Mandy also snagged a couple really adorable pictures of Nolan & I, and then the two of us with my sister Kate.

Beautiful, aren’t they? Seriously I can not get enough of Mandy’s photography. I’m so honored she did our wedding photography, and that I have these photos to remember our special day by.

So, there you have it folks…part two of our wedding day, the ceremony. The ceremony was everything I imagined and more; it was romantic, intimate, beautiful, and completely us. I’ve been told by several guests that it was one of the most beautiful weddings they’ve ever been too {I won’t say who, but let me tell you did it EVER fuel my ego…heh}. I can’t take credit for the beautiful decorations, that’s all on my sister-in-law, but Matt and I did choose every word from the ceremony and made sure it fit us.

I’m going to post about the Waterfront photos next! All of Mandy’s beautiful, wonderful work, all of it so awesome words can’t even begin to describe…which is why I’ll be posting pictures!

Please Note: Again, these photos were taken by Mandy Getschman {and a few were by a couple other friends}; please do not steal. Stealing is bad karma! If you’d like to use them for some purpose, please email myself and/or Mandy {Mandy’s email is AudeSapere62442 AT hotmail DOT com, and you can find my email address in the sidebar there}. Thank you!

13 Comments

Filed under adventures, changes, good times, linkage, love love love, me me ME, memories, milestones, pictures, project; wedding, rainbows and butterflies, reflecting, telling stories, the good, things I love, this is love, updates, what I'm feeling

13 responses to “The Wedding: Part Two; The Ceremony

  1. Your wedding was soo beautiful! And the pictures of you and Nolan were absolutely adorable!

  2. Blaine

    Aaaaand cue the waterworks. Beautiful! I love the photo of you guys and Mat is pumping his arm, that’s awesome. 😀 What a great day (by the looks and sound of it…) to remember.

    “You know me though! Quick and eager” LMFAO!!!

  3. apandorabox

    i got teary eyed reading the vows…. you’re officially making me cry…..

  4. Shruthi

    So beautiful! SO SO SO BEAUTIFUL!
    Nolan in a tux is just plain cute. I mean, seriously! AAAH!!! the excitement of seeing it all, even if it is after… nice! 🙂

  5. Love the group shots, the ones with you and Nolan, and in general just love that you got married! xoxo

  6. Pingback: the girl behind the camera; Mandy | The Bottle Chronicles

  7. Awww! I actually got a little teary when I saw the picture of you Matt and Nolan. That’s probably what my wedding photos will look like some day (with different characters of course ;).

    I love Matt’s top hat!! So cute!

    And you look beautiful! Also, Nolan’s outfit is adorable!

Leave a Reply

