On goals & other miscellaneous things

Friday sort of hit by my surprise. For some reason, I still thought it was Wednesday. I know right? What’s going on up in my wee little mind? Anywho, I’m thankful that this surprise is a good one, a really good one. Who doesn’t love Friday? And the fact that Matt works a half day today is all that more awesome. He should be home early in the afternoon, instead of around {or in some cases, after} dinner. I’m hoping the three of us can make it to the beach, although nobody told me just how difficult beach trips with a baby actually are. In my head I envisioned an easy, good, free time. In reality, the only time we’ve taken Nolan to the beach was a wee bit of a stresser. I ended up forgetting Nolan’s sunscreen and bathing suit {the bathing suit we could have gone without, but the sunscreen? Smooth move mom}.

But I’m hoping that the next time we go {which will be today, if all goes well}, I’ll be more relaxed. Even though beach trips are kind of pointless, unless we brought dinner with us, in which case it wouldn’t be too bad. But the time frame for things is constantly pressed when you have a baby. Meal times, nap times, bath times, bed times…they all get in the way. Not saying there’s anything wrong with that, just saying that I’m still learning how to work around all these and still manage to get out of the house for a significant amount of time.

Anyway, so last night I started to re-evaluate my goals within our goals. Not much has changed, but I have been feeling the fever lately…the baby fever that is, and I’ve longed to add another wee one to our family of three. BUT, I’m not so sure anymore. I mean, yes…I do want to add another baby to our ranks…some day, but now I’m starting to lean more to getting my rather large ass to school in the near future. Obviously I won’t be making it this year, but…maybe next September? I’m afraid to be hopeful about it…but I really want to get it out of the way.

I’ve decided I’ll focus on taking the one year Office Admin course first, and then Matt and I will re-evaluate in April of 2012. I still want to go for Medical Admin, and I still will…it will just depend on everything going on whether I go immediately in 2012 or wait a year or two and work.

So, I’ve decided {in other words} that I will be applying for Office Admin for the September 2011 program. Originally, I was going to wait until Matt finished his program, but…I really miss school. I was crushed when I couldn’t go this year, and I’m not being dramatic or anything. I really was crushed. Yes, I knew it was going be hard…but no matter when I start {this September, next September} it will still be hard. I’ll still have to balance full time motherhood and full time school. And maybe a part time job.

Speaking of a part time job…I just called my old boss at the diner. Back when I had to stop working there, she told me that she would offer me a position {if it was available} after the wedding. So, it’s after the wedding…and I want to see if theres a position available. Keep your fingers crossed for me…I was comfortable at that diner, I enjoyed working there. The length of shifts was perfect, and just the atmosphere…sigh.

I’m still going to look for a desk job somewhere, but it’d be nice to get this one back as a part time job. It was comfortable, you know? The customers were all really sweet, and my co-workers were pretty awesome too. Here’s to hoping though!

And, in other random news…Matt & I have been married for a week now. The time is just flying by, but to be honest? At first I didn’t really notice a difference. We act the same as we did before we were married. But there’s something safer about this, and I can’t put my finger on it. Something that just makes us even more complete, ya know?

It’s been an amazing week, and I’m looking forward to the rest of our lives together.

That being said, there are always ways you can improve your relationship, to ensure that it stays healthy and amazing and great. I’m going to be working on myself still. I’m going to try to be a little less demanding and a little more understanding. We’re definitely going to work harder at communicating; Matt doesn’t enjoy sharing his negative thoughts, because he doesn’t like stressing me out.

We both know that we are blessed to have each other, to have a love like we have, and to have all the other things that we have; Nolan, a roof over our heads, a steady income {for the moment, it will be hard when Matt goes to school again, but we will get through it}. We are lucky, and we won’t be taking these things for granted!

6 Comments

Filed under adventures, changes, figuring it out, I don't know, just thoughts, life as I know it, love love love, mama musings, me me ME, on young motherhood, reflecting, self improvement, thankful, the good, the random, this crazy train, this is love, updates, what I'm feeling, writing

6 responses to “On goals & other miscellaneous things

  1. Miss.Words

    you will get to school one day. im gonna try to start doing on line courses to get going on my major at least. i cant believe you have been married a week already you lucky little girl 🙂 baby fever will pass, maybe , sorta lol.

  2. i know what you mean about the difference being married has. it is hard to describe. its good you have goals man. mine are like. don’t lose my mind. get healthier. it makes me feel so lame. i don’t want to be a loser forever. ya know? anyways! this comment is all over the place, im so tired!
    so yeah! ❤ 😀

  3. Happy One week anniversary!

  4. That is so cute that you’ve been married for a week! I know what you mean about baby fever and vacillating back and forth. You have to do what’s right for you.

    It’s really impressive that you are outlining your goals so coherently. I need to do that. I think you may have inspired me!

  5. Sunshine and Daydreams

    I think its great that you are still set on going back to school. It will only benefit you in the long run. It tough leaving a baby at a daycare, but when you find one you are comfortable with, it will work out. Plus it will give Nolan a chance to socialize with other kids. My son was in a private in-home daycare until he was 4. There were about 3 other kids there of varying ages. When he started pre-k at the big daycare center, he had to learn how to play with the kids that were raised differently from him and didn’t always get along etc. It helped him get ready for kindegarten and learn how to interact with the kids at school.

    And Happy 1 week Anniversary!

    Vicky

  6. Pingback: you give me fever….sometimes. | The Bottle Chronicles

Leave a Reply

