you give me fever….sometimes.

So it’s absolutely no secret at all that I’ve been having a wee bit of the whole “baby fever”. My temp isn’t entirely too high, and I’m able to reframe from doing anything stupid {i.e. getting pregnant} but I still have me that fever, and although it isn’t as full-blown as some people I know, it’s still there, lurking in the shadows of my days. Throwing in thoughts like “Nolan would make such a sweet older brother”.

BUT, because both Matt and I aren’t entirely sure what we want at this point, we’re waiting a year. I know not long ago I blogged about wanting to go back to school, and I do want to go back to school, but I also don’t want my kids far apart in age. I want them to enjoy playing together, and to be close.

So, no stupid moves for us, we’re taking caution even more so now that we both sorta have the fever, because we know right now isn’t a good time to get pregnant.

But still, I have this stankin’ fever, and it’s a wee bit of a pain. It doesn’t help that Nolan is such a great toddler, and that he was such a great baby either. Maybe if I had more trouble with him, I wouldn’t have this fever. He is just so sweet, I can’t stand it half the time. Yes, he bites me on occasion and it hurts but I don’t blame him. I’d bite someone too if all of my teeth were coming in at once {note: I’m not sure if they are all coming in at once, but they sure as hell feel like it. Nolan has a ridiculous amount of teeth for a kid his age!}.

Last night, I had the house to myself. So I stayed up watching True Blood for a bit and then went to bed. Before I retired for the night, I did my routine check on Nolan. He was fast asleep. Since I’m blind as a bat in the dark {always, constantly, my sight never seems to improve without the help of light}, I had to search the crib for a minute to find out where he was. When I found him, I let my hand rest on the small of his back and thought about how freakin’ lucky I am to have such a wonderful, healthy baby boy and such a loving husband {who, I might add, is an amazing father…even if he’s off slaying dragons and what not right now}.

Nolan’s spoiled me since day one, he’s always been an easy baby. Even when he was super new and getting up every 2-3 hours to feed, he was always so damn happy about it. Happy to see me, happy to eat, happy to be held by me and kissed by me. Just, happy. Sure, we went through a few bouts of colic-y nights, where Matt and/or I had to walk the floor with him until his belly pains went away, but once I figured out a proper diet for myself, all that went away. Apparently babies don’t like spices and garlic as much as I do {and I can’t say I miss that bland diet!}.

I’m noticing the change in him every single day that goes by. He grows right before my eyes, leaving me breathless with amazement. Today, I allowed Nolan to eat his grilled cheese of a plate. I don’t normally do this because Nolan LOVES to throw things on the floor, and the last several times I tried this…things did not end well for the plate. But today? He was good as gold, extremely happy to leave the plate on his tray and eat his lunch {or rather, lick all the ketchup off his grilled cheese…he’s going to be just like me}.

And he’s trying to talk, like he’s having full-out conversations with me without actually using words, if that makes sense? He has his own langauge and he tells me things using his language matter-of-factly, it’s as if I’m being informed of something I didn’t know before. I love it.

So, all the awesome things that Nolan does on the daily doesn’t help with my fever. However, he’ll occasionally switch things around on me {like his sleep patterns} and while it doesn’t entirely cure me of my baby fever, it certainly helps to delay it. Last night was an interesting one; Nolan woke up at 4am soaked and thirsty, so I gave him some milk after changing him and we cuddled in his rocking chair for a bit, then I put him back in his crib and went back to my room. Three times after that, I woke up to him talking and ‘barking’ {which is when he sorta barks like a puppy for attention, as if to say I’M HERE, or something. It’s not an upset or angry bark though}. He fell back asleep all three times and woke up again at 8am. I was exhausted, because while although he was able to fall right back asleep after waking me up, I had a harder time drifting back to la-la-land, because Matt wasn’t there.

This morning was better though, once I had woken up a bit anyway. Nolan amused me by finding Matt’s hat, he put it on and refused to take it off for the next 20 minutes.

What up? GOT BEEF?

It was adorable.

I can’t wait for this afternoon! Once Nolan wakes up {and has a bit of a late lunch, since he wasn’t hungry before nap time}, we’re heading to the waterfront with some friends! I’m รผber excited to get out of the house and take a stroll with my new stroller, which I love…it’s awesome ๐Ÿ™‚ I know it’s not the best stroller out there, but whatever! I adore it.

Which reminds me…now that I don’t have any more excuses, I’m going to start walking more with Nolan! I need to get my cardio up if I want to join the gym and not die from it. Matt is supportive of my new ‘idea’ to get toned and healthy. Actually, I think Matt will agree to anything to keep me happy LOL.

Arg, so let’s see the list of things that I’m gonna do {and better start doing…}

  • Find a part-time job, ASAP. Or a full-time job. preferably a desk one! {which means, more or less; start working on my resume and cover letter!}
  • Tour the gym, and then {if I like it} join it.
  • Sign Nolan up for a YMCA membership and enroll him in swimming lessons.
  • Save up money and see if we can get on a waiting list for the apartment of my dreams for Spring 2011.
  • Track down and pay that big old bad debt.

And yeah, let’s get my procrastinating ass in gear, shall we? Who wants to be my daily kick in the ass?!?

7 Comments

Filed under adventures, challenges, changes, family, figuring it out, growing up, I don't know, just thoughts, linkage, love love love, mama musings, Nolan, pictures, reflecting, the random, updates

7 responses to “you give me fever….sometimes.

  1. Hahaha, I still have baby fever, too. The only thing that’s keeping me from going ahead and getting knocked up is knowing that Mike and I can’t afford a baby right now (plus there’s a lot we both want to do before we have kids). So, yeah, baby fever. But man, I can’t wait!

    I hope you track down that debt collection agency soon. It’s so weird that they’re so hard to find! Usually they harass you!

  2. Just one response to this post – ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I will probably get into trouble for saying this but…I will say it anyhow. There is no great time to have another baby. There will never be enough money or time or whatever. And everybody struggles with this decision. If you want to have another baby and you want them to be close in age, go for it! You will find a way to make it work!!

Leave a Reply

