The Kick I Needed…

Sometimes, I need a kick. I’m pretty good at keeping the kitchen clean every single day, but the rest of the house quickly falls into dismay at my unattentive hands. I get lazy, especially thanks to this unbearable heat. {And also; I sorta get tired of being ‘the only one’* that cares what this place looks like enough to do something about it}.

Anywho, I recieved that kick from Amy’s latest post at Hearts Into Home. Her outlook refreshed me, because lately? I’ve been focusing on the negative more often than not. I get so tired of cleaning all the time, and needed a reminder that that’s part of my job. It’s not all of my job, nor should I be the only one ever cleaning {and I’m not…usually, anyway}. But I still whined about it, because nobody likes cleaning. Actually, I do like cleaning…for the most part. What I don’t like is feeling as if I’m the only one cleaning the house.

This morning though? After reading Amy’s uplifting outlook, I was ready to take on the world. I suppose I should also add that I didn’t have to do dinner dishes last night, which was such a treat! So I cleaned the after dinner mess {the late night drinks and snacks} without feeling angry or stressed. Usually, I hate cleaning in the morning. But this morning? All I had to do was wash two dishes {the blender and the juice container} and load the dish washer! Oh, and wipe down the counters. And swept the floor and then tidy up my messy toddler {who had been enjoying his breakfast while I cleaned}.

After I cleaned the kitchen, I folded laundry while I sipped at my tea and watched Nolan play with the giant hammer thing Matt won from the fair last weekend. Then I played with Nolan and his trucks. By the time he went down for his nap, I had cleaned and tidied up the livingroom, dinning room and bathroom, and vacuumed {while he ate lunch}. He’s still napping now, so I’ve enjoyed a nice cold shower and am now posting just for the sake of writing. I know nobody really cares what I’ve accomplished this morning, but maybe…when I’m not having the best day reguarding chores…I can come back and read this post and see all that I accomplished in the morning. I’m not exhausted, and I still had time to play with Nolan and he had a wonderful morning. Plus? The house {or the upstairs, anyway} is clean! It’s a good feeling!

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I rock this housewife thing. Sometimes I am able to get all my chores accomplished with ease and then have a wonderful afternoon with my boy. But, more often than not, I suck at this housewife thing. I sulk that I’m the only one doing anything {partially true; I am the only one doing most things because I’m the only one here during the day, and therefore the mess is mostly ours anyway}. It really depends on my mood though, if I’m in a good, positive mood I have a great day and get {most of} the things on my to-do list finished. If I’m having a bad day, where I’m dripping with negativity {cough.yesterday.cough}, I don’t get anything off my to-do list and am always shocked when I make it through bedtime with my head still on.

So my goal? From here on in? Delete the negativity, bask in the positive things. It’s a big goal; one that will take me a while to accomplish. Changing the negative things in your life takes some time; but I’m definitely pushing for it. I don’t want to be negative about anything, not when there is so much good in my life.

And also; I don’t know about you, but living in a constant messy enviornment makes me edgey and angry. I like clean, not like OCD clean, but clean enough that you don’t feel dirty every time you walk into a room because it’s so messy. Clean enough that there aren’t bugs and creepy things hiding under piles of clothes. I find that when the house is messy or dirty, I feel like crap. So; the easiest solution? CLEANING THE HOUSE! πŸ˜‰ now, if only I could remember this every day of the week, eh?

*Or so it seems that way. It’s not true, of course, everybody cares what the house looks like. But oh woe is me, right? πŸ˜‰

8 Comments

Filed under challenges, changes, crazy mama, family, figuring it out, growing up, just thoughts, mama musings, opinions, reflecting, self improvement, the random, this crazy train, um what?, updates, what I'm feeling, writing

8 responses to “The Kick I Needed…

  1. Blaine

    I know exactly what you mean. I feel the same way, and have the same struggles.

    It’s inspiring to read a post about someone changing their attitude and getting stuff done, so yeah, we do care what you got done! πŸ˜€

    At least your house is clean. This afternoon, mine will be too. πŸ˜€

  2. I’m the exact same way. Clutter drives me freakin’ crazy, but I don’t always have the motivation to take care of it. Our house stays pretty clean. Hubby is just one of those neat freak type people. LOL I do most of the cleaning though because that is “my job” in our relationship. I get to stay home like I want so it works for us.

  3. Oy! This is a major challenge for me. I get so overwhelmed by cleaning. People keep telling me to take one room at a time. Do a room a day.

    Arg! It is hard for me. So what’s your cleaning strategy?

  4. We finally have a place with a bathroom on the first floor, so yanno what? The only thing I worry about keeping clean all the time is the first floor…kitchen, living room, bathroom. The rest of the house? Dude, you’re among the privileged few if you’re allowed up/down there. It does get cleaned, but only after the other. I’m pretty freakin’ OCD but I can’t see it, so if I can’t muster up the motivation, I pretend it does not exist. Works for me!

    Glad you’ve found your kickstart!

Leave a Reply

