Goldilocks

This apartment’s too dingy.

This apartment’s too small.

This apartment has nowhere for the cat box, at all!

I feel like Goldilocks, only instead of trying out different bowls of oatmeal and different beds to nap in, I’m searching for ‘the perfect’ apartment. We’re going to be living there, renting for a year at least, and I don’t want to hate it.

I can compromise on some things, but definitely not everything. This morning I went to look at a basement apartment. The price seemed right, $900 all-inclusive for a two bedroom apartment. BUT, the apartment did not match the price. It was dark, tiny, and dirty. I didn’t even get to see the ‘master’ bedroom because the current tenant didn’t leave for the showing and was still sleeping. The kitchen was entirely too small, there was nowhere for a kitchen table at all! The living room was tiny too. And there wasn’t a tub. The landlady told me that the people before the current tenant had a baby and they just ‘bought a plastic basin for him to bathe in’. Um, no thanks.

So this apartment? Was a no-no. In fact, I don’t even want Matt to see it because he’ll totally say “I TOLD YOU SO!” But hey, if I didn’t look  at it, it probably would have been a gem right?

I’m still keeping my fingers crossed that we get the apartment we want, or at least…the one we think we want. It passes my sister-in-laws approval, which means it MUST be good. And a two-level apartment building with two bathrooms just sounds heavenly!

I can’t wait to hear from them. I’m anxious, and scared. What if they say no? What if they say yes? That leaves 14 days to get packed and get out. Where will we find a couch? A kitchen table and chairs? How will we do this all by ourselves? Matt has his truck, yes, and even if we packed it to the top he’d still need an extra set of hands to help with the move. We’ll ask one of his friends, and his brother.

Laundry is going to be a pain in the ass, if you know what I mean. 3.50 per load will add up. But you know what? I’ll take it!

I just wish we would hear back from them, today!

I’m so impatient.

8 Comments

Filed under adventures, annoyances, bitchin' and moanin', challenges, changes, crazy mama, figuring it out, growing up, just thoughts, reflecting, the random, tidbits, um what?, updates, what I'm feeling, writing

8 responses to “Goldilocks

  1. being impatient is acceptable. we have found all our places by chance and luck. so just stay optimistic everything will come together. heard through the grape vine your parents sold there house im sure someone in the family has extra stuff.

  2. Blaine

    Good luck! I hope you get the one with 2 bathrooms, that does sound heavenly! 😀

    You can offset the cost of washing by hanging things to dry, that is, if you don’t need them right away. Most things will dry overnight if there is enough air circulation, and they might be a little crunchier than from the dryer, but a good shake/rub gets most of it out.

    Maybe post on kijiji that you will be in need of some stuff, but can’t pick it up until you move into the new place, there’s bound to be some people eager to get rid of a decent sofa/table/whatever for cheap or free that will hold onto it for you for a bit.

    You can also try freecycle, but I don’t know for sure if your town/city has it. Check on freecycle.org. (It’s a site where people list stuff they want to give away, no monetary transactions or barters of any kind allowed, usually!)

  3. the celt (jessica)

    When our last apartment had really expensive laundry, we looked around for a local laundromat and used it instead. It was actually cheaper than the apartment laundry and I was able to get our laundry done in about 1/3 of the time, too. I know you’d then have to get out and find time to do it, but maybe you could do it when Matt is at home with Nolan or vice versa.

    I second Freecycle or something like that online for finding good used furniture, or even a good used furniture store (if you have one somewhere in town). Another option would be to look at moderately priced furniture stores when they have close-out sales and check out the floor models. I had a friend who got a kitchen table, four chairs, and the bench for it (total seating for six or seven, depending on their size on the bench side) for 1/4 the price it was listed because it was the floor model and they wouldn’t get any in stock for a while. Another friend got a coffee table at Target that was only $32, originally way over $100, because it was the floor model. (I’ve seen the pics of it in the past week, and it’s a gorgeous coffee table. She said it looked like something from Pottery Barn, and I agree with her assessment. Wonderful table.)

    Keep your eyes peeled for the furniture stuff, because sometimes it will fall into your lap!

  4. Dani (dansbury)

    Best of luck! apartment hunting is so stressful!!

    the only bit of advice I have is re: the furniture, it will come in time! you can TOTALLY make-do until then! as long as there is some sort of system to strap Nolan into while he eats (and I know you have a high chair) the rest is all negotiable! and! labor day weekend, last long weekend of the summer, garage sales galore! maybe you’ll find something cheap!

  5. Verlene

    Hi Jess! I’ve been reading your blog since before Nolan was born! Yours was the first blog that I became addicted to. I am so very proud of both of you! You have came such a long way in such a short time.

    I would love to have access to the protected posts if you don’t mind. I promise to comment more and just not lurk!!!!

  6. Haha! I love the goldilocks analogy. Do you guys have Craigslist up there? That’s where I would recommend getting a couch and kitchen table. Otherwise, yard sales? Hope you guys get the apt you want!

  7. Goodwill. Ask around and see if anyone is getting rid of anything. When I lived on my own I had this teeny tiny “computer” table for my kids to eat dinner at. One day I went downstairs to check my mail and there was a kitchen table and three chairs sitting there. I had my mom on the phone in about 10 seconds and that ugly table in my dining room in less then 10 minutes. LOL I had a couch from off the curb for my kids to jump on, a futon for a couch and it was my bed. I got a bed for my son from my mom. Sheets and blankets from my grandma. I got my favorite ugly chair at a garage sale. Was my apartment a sight to behold? No, but we had the basics. My husband I now have brand new everything, but we got lucky and it’s really only because he was a stubborn ass and wouldn’t buy anything used. 😉

Leave a Reply

