Day Dreams and Diner Etiquette

A while ago, my good friend JD wrote a post on drive thru etiquette. It made me laugh my ass off, and also thank my lucky stars that I didn’t work at a fast food restaurant. Up until today, I’ve had absolutely no issue with my work. No bad dramas, even still. Usually the customers are very chill and happy. Those who aren’t, I always manage to put a smile on their face. Anyway, today there was a…erm, difficult customer. He came in at about 7pm {we close at 8pm} and took about 45 minutes to order his meal. I was rushing around, trying to accomplish all of my closing work. Tidying up, cleaning bathrooms, that sort of thing. Part of my job is to vacuum half the diner, the section that is closed. I have never had an issue doing this little task, ever, before.

But as I was going over the carpet quickly picking up a small area I had missed, a customer walked over and turned off the vacuum cleaner and glared at me.

“Is your boss in?” he asked in an annoyed tone.

“No, she’s not…can I help you?” I asked, completely oblivious.

“If I have to listen to you vacuum and this horrible music, I don’t want to pay for my meal,” he huffed, glaring at me some more. I apologized before he stomped back off to his table, but I was reeling. And shocked.

And then I thought about JD’s drive thru etiquette, and started giggling. I only have one ‘guideline’ for diner etiquette, but here goes!

  • Don’t come in after 7pm, when we close at 8pm, and expect absolute silence. We are busy doing our closing work, as well as serving other customers. So if you want a quiet meal, perhaps try coming in at 5-6pm. No vacuums, although I can’t say the same for the ‘bad music’ – we are a 50s style diner and we do play that genre of music, all the time. No hard feelings, just take heed. You’ll be happy, and I’ll be happy because I won’t have to stay until 10pm vacuuming when I could have done it at 15 too.

So, yeah!

When I came home, I didn’t really give myself time to relax {until now}. I cleaned the kitchen and tossed in a load of laundry. Matt and I talked for a bit, then he went out to Tims to buy me a tea {we’re out of teabags, must add them to the grocery list!}. So my feet? Are killing me. But that’s okay, because I love working at the diner! Its fun, and I love the girls I work with. The kitchen guys are pretty swell too! And I’m beginning to recognize some of the regulars too! {Although I’m still not great at carrying more than two drinks…yay for trays!}

Kay so I know this is going to sound really lame, but I always wanted to work in a diner. I thought working in a 50s style diner would be awesome! And it’s totally rad that I am now working in one! Not saying I’ll be doing this for the rest of my life {because I won’t, as much as I love it there’s definitely not enough money in it to keep my wallet happy!}, but it’s definitely a great job to have for the next few years, and hopefully I can still keep it when I go to school!

::::

I’ve been day dreaming a lot about how awesome it’s going to be when we move out. Matt and I came to the conclusion that we will get Internet, but it will be the cheapest package we can get. It would be silly not to, as we pay all of our bills online and that’s how we’re able to manage money so easily. Plus, we’re not getting TV and we’re definitely not getting home phone, so…I guess we need something for when Nolan’s in bed!

But, I’m going to be seriously cutting back my online time, even more so than I already have. No computer while Nolan is up, even if it’s in the morning and I’m trying to “wake up”. Everything can wait until nap time, and this way I will definitely not go over our net time šŸ˜‰

And I’ve already been plotting fun season themed activities! I’m going to buy an orange garbage bag and Nolan and I are going to spend one afternoon in October collecting leaves to make a giant pumpkin for Halloween! We’re going to crave pumpkins {well, *I* am, Nolan’s just going to help me scoop out the pumpkin seeds! Hopefully he won’t eat any…}. We’ll bake Halloween cookies, and colour and paint freely without fearing “messes”. Our new home is right in front of the bike trails, so we’ll have a nice – SAFE – place for our afternoon strolls. I’m not exactly comfortable walking along the busy street here, it’s always a close call with idiots who do 70 in a residential area.

We’re going to have a blast in our new home, I just know. I won’t be afraid to do things, I won’t be apprehensive to be myself and let loose. It will be amazing! I know, it’s going to be more expensive, no need to remind me, but still..freedom tastes lovely!

And I’m closer to work, and Matt’s closer to school. I won’t have far to drive when the weather is really bad =)

Tomorrow I work a split shift again, which I don’t really mind. The only thing that kinda sucks is that I don’t get to spend a whole lot of time with Matt and Nolan on weekends. So, no weekend family adventures =( but still, my mind enjoys getting out and exercising!

And that, my lovelies, is all the updates for now! If you’ll excuse me, I’m watching A Cinderella Story and then going to bed early!

6 Comments

Filed under adventures, challenges, changes, crazy mama, family, just thoughts, linkage, little moments, love love love, mama musings, rainbows and butterflies, reflecting, telling stories, this crazy train, uncensored, updates, what I'm feeling, writing

6 responses to “Day Dreams and Diner Etiquette

  1. people suck sometimes…lol…i’ve worked in fast food and have had a few encounters of the dumb customer kind….sounds like very good advice about what time to avoid going into places if you want quiet….

    if you need more ideas for activities you and Nolan, I could probably supply a few….my sister is an ece and has tons of activity books and all that jazz…lol…sounds like you have a ton already (i love the garbage bag pumpkin…makes me wish i didn’t live in a crappy basement apartment) šŸ™‚

    when are you moving into the new place??

  2. Vicky

    That is why I could never work in the food service industry. I have a tendency to tell people like that off. More power to you though! It always helps when you like the group of people you work with.

  3. Blaine

    I can relate to the Drive Thru etiquette post, except I don’t believe people should have restrictions on what they order through the drive through. If someone wants six meals, fine, whatever, that’s what they get.

    HOWEVER, it’s when you order so much, that’s when mistakes start to happen, usually the fault of the person ordering, not the order taker. I worked at a drive through for over 1.5 years. I was ALWAYS put on drive through because I was apparently the only person who could do it without screwing it up. (seriously, it was disturbing)…

    People go through the drive through because they want food fast, and they are too lazy to come in. If people don’t know what they want, that’s why there’s a menu by the speaker. Don’t expect them to come in to become familiarized with the menu, that’s kind of ridiculous, too. If someone is sitting at the speaker and deciding what they want, take the opportunity to take a mini break while you’re waiting. lol

    ANyway, that’s enough about that.

    I agree wholeheartedly about the Don’t Come In During The Last Hour Of Business And Expect Us To Not Be Cleaning, We Want To Go Home…

    I wonder what your manager would have said if the person had the chance to speak to them.

    That customer was incredibly rude to have unplugged the vacuum on you, too. I would probably have said, sorry, this section is closed, and I need to vacuum it, and gone right on with my job. If that guy wants quiet, he should go home. A place of business (especially not a 50’s diner) is no place to expect quiet at any time. The guy’s obviously an idiot, and just went to the first place he saw that had food. Next time, tell him to try the nearest drive thru, so he can sit in his car in peace and quiet without anyone doing their job and vacuuming. lol

    Sounds like a great place to move to! When do you get to move in?

  4. Glad you decided to get internet! It’s worth it! That customers sounds like a curmudgeon! Don’t even pay him any mind.

  5. Amy

    I’m sure your sister has some great restaurant stories to share…congrats on the new job, by the way! Sounds like you’ve found a new place to live, too, which is very exciting!

Leave a Reply

