Fight Club

Matt is my match in every way possible, but sometimes? We butt heads. I know, right? How uncommon is this? But, we’re both Geminis and we’re both stubborn as all hell. So, it’s very obvious when we don’t agree on something. Luckily, our fights and arguements may seem large at the time, but we both tenderly refer to them as “five minute blow-outs”. Once the storm passes, all is good.

But last night wasn’t enjoyable, despite the fact that I’m used to our five minute blow-outs. With the impending move almost upon us, Matt and I have both been feeling a little bit stressed {and by little bit, I really mean A LOT}. Matt isn’t a fan of going back to “the way it was”, back where we penny pinched and had basically nothing left over for “extras”. We’ve been spoiled living here, in the sense that we’ve had a lot of extras left over. And perhaps we should have saved a little bit more {in order to have a little extra now} but we didn’t because we sort of suck at thinking long term. So, bad on the both of us. But we need to do this move, because frankily…you can’t feel unwelcome and uncomfortable in the place that is supposed to be your home. It’s unhealthy. And we’ve outgrown this arrangement of living with Matt’s step-mom, so has she. So, it’s needed.

Last night, I suppose you could say that the stresses of the past few weeks finally came to rear their ugly heads right in our faces. At 12am. When all I wanted to do was cuddle and fall asleep in his arms, I suddenly found myself yelling at him like a crazy person because he told me that under no condition is the cat box going in our room. The fight that followed such a line was absolutely ridiculous, and looking back on it now? I feel like junk punching the both of us for being such stubborn jerkwads.

I was angry, because where the hell is the catbox going to go if it’s not in our room!? The bathroom is too small to host it, and I’m not having it in the livingroom where our family will be hanging out, nor am I putting it in the kitchen or Nolan’s bedroom for very obvious reasons. Matt kept suggesting we put it in the laundry room, but the laundry room is literally cubby hole off the kitchen, so it’s still in the kitchen {technically} and it would be right beside the dinning table and ew!

So, our fight took off from there. It was my fault for getting the cat in the first place, I never clean the catbox {and I know I don’t, cause..like..ew}, blah blah blah.

I’ll just say the whole thing was ridiculous and stupid and today, we both have massive headaches and are dragging our asses. Morning trip to the park? Did not happen because I demanded that Matt let me sleep in – and he did…until 8:55. Which kind of made me even madder, because I let him sleep in til 11am yesterday and what the hell? Couldn’t he have given me the same allotted time to sleep in?? Grumble grumble. Anyways, Matt is now taking “his turn” while I attempt to deal with one cranky ass toddler. Who somehow managed to drop my video camera on his face and still insisted on playing with it, and thenΒ  threw an epic tantrum because I said no.

Oh joys.

But I’m not discouraged, because every day has the potential to be great, even if it starts out rather crappy. And my whole motto lately has been relax, breathe, and enjoy.

So I’m trying to do just that.

Hopefully I’ll be back later today with an awesomely happy post and adorable pictures from a fun day {here’s hoping those rain clouds hold out…}

::::

On a brighter note, yesterday I started reading two wicked blogs that I’ve seen around the net but, somehow, never read until then. Apricot Tea is definitely my cup of tea, if you know what I mean. I think she is lovely and gorgeous and I so wish I could be that daring, she pulls off every thing she does with such ease, beauty and graciousness. I admire her writings, her cooking abilities, and her easy fashion. I wish I could look half as good! I’m dying to try out her Black Bean & Tomato Quinoa recipe! And Sometimes Sweet is a super sweet and awesome blog that I discovered through Bleubird Vintage. Not only is she also super fashionable, adorably pregnant {thus not helping my mega bad case of baby fever}, but she’s also a wonderful writer and I find her very refreshing. So, since I’m super big on sharing new awesome blogs that I love, I thought I’d do just that =) Enjoy!

…………………………………………..

P.S. what do y’all think of my new blog layout? It was time, yet again, for a change. I’m trying to get back the lovely header that JD made me, but resizing images is not my speciality {nor is coding of any kinds}. So I’m not sure if that wee header I through together in all of 5 minutes is going to stick around or not, but this layout will…until I need another change πŸ˜‰

18 Comments

Filed under #FAIL, annoyances, challenges, crazy mama, family, figuring it out, I don't know, just thoughts, life as I know it, linkage, reflecting, stuff that bites, the difficult, the random, the ugly, uncensored, updates, what I'm feeling, writing

18 responses to “Fight Club

  1. I love the layout!

    I hate the fights that you know are silly but still have, anyway. I hate feeling like I’ve been through the ringer the next day. UGH.
    And our cat box is in the kitchen, and actually, I LIKE it there, because I clean it ALL the time, BECAUSE it’s there. Not sure if that helps or not, but it works in our house. πŸ™‚

  2. Blaine

    I love the new layout, it’s really nice!

    Chris and I used to have stupid fights, too. For no reason, or similarly tiny comments or little things the other person did. We seem to have outgrown them, most of the time. I know we used to have them at least once a month, now… maybe once a year. We’ve been together six years now, so who knows, maybe in another couple of years, you and Mat will look back and think, “wait, we used to fight a lot more!”. lol

    Yay for moving day quickly approaching!

    I can see on both sides why you wouldn’t want the cat box in either of those places. Who wants to wake up to (or try to snuggle, or …”other”) the smell of fresh cat shit? BUT ALSO, who wants to be cooking dinner, take a big sniff of the delicious food, and all of a sudden find your nose is being raped by that horrible smell…?

    We don’t have a cat, so I can offer zero advice. Maybe try each location for two weeks each and see which you prefer? And try to not kill each other. lol

  3. Cri

    I like the theme. It’s nice and simple. Also you guys are all hot and smexy πŸ™‚
    yeah we have fights like that too. Tay and I are both the youngest and were pushed around a lot so we’re both really stubborn as well. But we’re working on it a lot. We really don’t want any yelling around this baby.
    And the catbox here is an issue too. We have two because of our cats and the kittens and as of now, because i’m pregnant they’re both in the dining room area 😦 we don’t eat around there but it still hella bugs me, and I can’t wait till we’re back to one and can put it back in Taylors office area. But still I don’t even like it there. Apt living with cats is kinda lousy 😦

  4. I’m a big fan of the layout – especially the font at the top. It’s perfect πŸ™‚

    Sorry to hear about the fight, but as a fellow Gemini I can definitely relate to looking back and feeling like punching myself – I let the littlest things blow up sometimes and I know it’s not good, but I guess that’s when the grace comes in after the fact πŸ™‚

    “Every day has the potential to be great, even if it starts out rather crappy”

    Amen sister – I tell my students this all the time. You don’t have to wait until tomorrow to start the day over πŸ™‚

    Best of luck with everything – if you do end up with the litter box in the bedroom, make sure you get one with a lid and a mat to catch the litter the cat drags out. Buy a “small spaces” litter and a baking soda deodoriser – it makes all the difference!

    • Thanks! I love it too πŸ™‚ it shall stick, for a while anyway hehe πŸ˜€

      Ugh, it’s so irritating being a Gemini! Try having TWO under one roof. And a Taurus….recipe for disaster. And it’s SO TRUE, after the fact we have no problem admitting we’re wrong, during? Not so much!!

      Thanks for the tips! That’s a good idea, I’ll definitely be investing in a mat no matter WHERE we end up putting it!

  5. Hmm. When we only had 3 cats we thought the only place we could have a litter box was the kitchen. And now that we have four we have a box in the kitchen and one in the bedroom.

    So, without us having a fight, we made both your and Matt’s worst nightmares come true in our home. πŸ™‚

    When we have a fight Dawg calls me Stef instead of Poppy. arggggggh *chomp* πŸ™‚

  6. I hate those kind of fights. Mike and I have had one stupid fight since he moved in… and it was up at the lake when we camped overnight with my family for my birthday. I have to say that, since he moved in, we’ve fought a lot less. I think it’s probably because my parents are here, too; we’re in a honeymoon period!

    I’m the person who usually picks the fights (last one wasn’t my fault, though, hahaha), and they’re usually stupid. I think I’ve learned, but the only way of telling will be when this honeymoon period ends. (;

    What brand of cat litter do you use? We use Scoop Away, but also use this dollar store and Shop Rite brand (can’t remember the name but it comes in a red and grey bag). Both work really well. If my other cat actually covered his shit, we wouldn’t smell a thing. He’s lazy, though! πŸ˜€

    PS: I can’t see the new layout on my phone, but I’ll check it quick later! Let me know if you need any help. <333

  7. Ooh! *squeals* I love this layout! I like how the nav is always on the left, and I love the new header!

  8. Oh fighting. I know it well. I’m a libra and Wil is an Aries. But two Geminis, yikes! You guys are like the mister and mistress of words! I feel your pain, though. Wil and I have enormous verbal blow outs about the stupidest shit.

    Anyway, I love your new layout!

  9. Hold in there sis<3
    you always manage to get things figured out! =)
    love you much and miss you more.

Leave a Reply

