w[h]ine & books

The past few days have been a whirlwind of me trying to stay above the waters of stress and NOT let all that I can’t change get to me. I’ve been struggling with it, its true. I’m anxious. I’m stressed. I’m panicked. No matter what I do, no matter how insignificant the situation is; I worry. I get anxious. That is just what I’ve become, or perhaps what I’ve always been? Who knows.

Despite that, I’m super happy! I love our new home. Today Matt and I hung some more pictures and a shelf in the living room & hung up all of Nolan’s pictures and wall hangings in his room. His room is almost complete; Matt just has to hang the floating shelf and its done. Each day that goes by, it looks more and more like home…it FEELS more and more like home. Hell, it even SMELLS more and more like home {and I don’t mean in a bad way, haha}.

Today was rainy and gloomy, but despite that I actually avoided stressing for most of the day. I cleaned, I did laundry, I played with Nolan, I sliced my finger open {ouch} and I basically hide away all day and it was super nice. There are days when I want to get out and go somewhere, do something. But today wasn’t one of those days. Today was one of those ‘I’m content in being at home, in my PJs’ day.

I’m just sipping a glass of wine and waiting for the landlady to call us. Matt and I are gonna help her hook up her new wireless. Our landlords are super friendly, we lucked out again.

I’ve also finished reading the book I’ve been reading for the past week: ‘Still Alice’ by Lisa Genova. It was an amazing book! Truly something I would recommend. It was so raw and real, I felt Alice’s pain – and her families. It was a take on Alzheimer’s that I’ve never read before. Seriously; read it. You won’t regret it!

Now, I’m off to read Jodi Picoult’s House Rules =) enjoy your Thursday night folks!!

5 Comments

Filed under challenges, changes, just thoughts, love love love, mama musings, reflecting, telling stories, the random, things I love, what I'm feeling, writing

5 responses to “w[h]ine & books

  1. LexiLoo

    That’s a good one….an eye-opener about what parents of autism go through on a daily basis, and such a good story, too!

    Glad you guys are in your own place!!! Moving sucks, but congrats!

  2. ahh i had lost your blog url for the longest time, i couldnt remember what your blog was titled! but i found it in my wordpress info because awhile back i had subscribed to one of your posts. anyway, im glad i found your blog again and i can relate to this post. i have been feeling so stressed and overwhelmed lately. it sucks!

  3. Michelle

    I’m glad that you are loving your new house and the process of turning it into a home! I read Still Alice as well and loved it. It almost felt like I was reading a memoir. My grandma had Alzheimer’s and I wish that this book had been around when she still was: (

  4. Yay for settling in! That’s awesome that you are putting more pictures up. How does Nolan like the new place?

    I’m so jealous that you were able to finish a book! I’ve heard great things about “Still Alice.” I’ve been on the same book for two months now!

  5. There’s nothing like having your own place. I’m so happy for you guys!

Leave a Reply

