Kinda…Sad…ish..?

This doesn’t really feel right…this Thanksgiving weekend. It’s not like any other one I’ve experienced. Matt & I have no family dinners to go too, save for our own little one on Monday. We live too far away from my family and his mom’s side, and I guess that his dad’s side is having their Thanksgiving dinner this weekend…I didn’t know about it until last night, when Matt told me, and he didn’t know about it until two days prior. So I had no time to book it off. And it was odd, really, because usually I know well in advance if a family function is happening. I am usually the go-to person, since Matt can’t be bothered to remember important dates or events. Not to mention, I have a job, so I need to know about things in advance so I can get time off for them. So, it feels weird and I’m sad about it, but I know I’ll get to see Matt’s dad’s side next weekend so I’m not too bummed out about it.

I’m definitely missing my family, & Matt’s mom’s side too. I miss the conversations over the table, the laughter, the inside jokes. It’d probably be different and weird anyway, but still. I miss the company. Thanksgiving was always a big deal, that and Christmas. There was always turkey galore.

So today, I am home sick and sad. I wish I could see my sisters, my cousins, my parents, my grandparents. I wish I could hug them and kiss them and tell them I miss them every day up here in the far North. I wish I could share some jokes, laugh with them, tell them some stories. I wish we could get drunk and dance to Beyoncé in the garage that we no longer have anymore.

I didn’t expect this holiday to hit me so hard, I mean…I assumed I’d only have trouble with Christmas. But hearing from everyone else about their family dinners, and their turkey stories…well it just makes me really home sick.

I wish my car didn’t need a lot of work. I wish I had the funds to get the silly thing fixed, so that we could take a trip down South…I really need it. But, alas, life is like that. We’re saving to get the car fixed, but it’ll be a while.

Christmas is merely a stone’s throw away too, so there is shopping and preparing for that…and I don’t even know if we can travel down for it. It’s up in the air until the day of, really…it’s in the hands of Mother Nature. If she throws us horrible weather {which I’m sure she will}, we won’t be going.

But enough about this, this isn’t a happy tone for Thanksgiving. Don’t get me wrong, I am thankful…I really am. I am thankful for my family and friends. I am especially thankful for the good health of my wee family. I am truly blessed. I am excited for tomorrow, to have a nice meal with my little family, and enjoy each others company. I only wish I could see all of my family, my extended family and my good friends too, this weekend.

But I have my boys, so this weekend will still be great.

I hope you all have a beautiful time with your beautiful families. Happy Thanksgiving, Interwebs!

8 Comments

Filed under challenges, family, growing up, just thoughts, reflecting, stuff that bites, telling stories, thankful, the difficult, things I love, this crazy train, tough stuff, uncensored, updates, what I'm feeling, writing

8 responses to “Kinda…Sad…ish..?

  1. I’m such a silly American; I had no idea that Canada had a Thanksgiving — never mind in October. Ours is in November, so I’m jealous you get your turkey early. (;

    I’m sorry you don’t get to see the family. Living far away has its good and bad sides. Hopefully you can see them soon. Stupid car! *hugs*

  2. Thanksgiving was the first holiday that happened after I moved away from all my family and friends to NYC. It’s tough to be away from your support network on holidays. It gets easier, though. And often times I wouldn’t hear about plans until “too late” so I started asking well in advance, sometimes asking people directly instead of asking Dawg. 🙂 Sometimes it’s just necessary for self preservation. 🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving, Jess.

  3. I feel a lot of those same things about our family too since we couldn’t go. Love you so much an I sure hope I’ll see you at Christmas. xoxo

  4. ignotus mulier

    when i first moved out and away from my parents, i moved out of province about 2000 km away. there was no option of going home for holidays so i kinda get how you’re feeling. it was strange to be so far away and i felt very left out and lonely. i had my fiance of course, but it wasn’t the same as being with my family and having a huge dinner that my parents prepared (side bonus i never appreciated until then; that i didn’t have to cook the 6 hour feast). i did a little thanksgiving dinner for us but it wasn’t the same. not worse, just different. this weekend i’m working, my fiance is away and my family is doing their thanksgiving at the cottage a couple of hours away. reading your post and writing this has made me realise that i’m less ok with not having thanksgiving than i thought i was so i think i’ll roast myself a little chicken and make up some mashed potaters and some stovetopstuffing cuz let’s face it, i’m not going through the effort to make real stuffing just for me (plus i haven’t let any bread go stale) and have my own private thanksgiving dinner… with ma dog. 🙂 so thank you for that. i hope your day tomorrow is wonderful with your little family.
    happy thanksgiving. or as i like to say; gobble gobble!

  5. Happy Canadian Thanksgiving! I’m sorry your sad. It sucks to be far from family. I love stuffing on a random note. It’s pretty much the best food in the entire universe!

  6. Melanie

    I remember what it was like to be far away from family on holidays. Even though this sounds trite, try to make the day special for you 3. Sometimes you won’t be able to be with other family members but you can create a special tradition just for you!

  7. On the flip side, I would LOVE having at least one Thanksgiving with just my husband and daughter.
    Hope you get to see your family for Christmas!

  8. Karen in Oz

    I know how you feel. When I first moved to live with Hubby, I was 5hrs away from my Parent’s and Family, and Hubby and I spent Christmas by ourselves. I felt so sad all day and it was a Christmas I would rather forget. Nothing beats having a great Family holiday dinner 🙂

Leave a Reply

