The one where I discuss my plans for the future and stuff…

When are you going back to school?

I get asked that question so often, it’s pretty insane. Most of the people who ask me mean well – actually, I think all of them but a select few mean well. The “older” mothers from the EYC ask because they’re looking out for me. They know how hard it is when you’re just starting out – a young married couple with a baby. Of course, there is the rare person who asks because they are nosey and don’t think very highly of a young stay at home, uneducated mother.

Anyways, we all know that I was this close to going back to college this September. I was enrolled and thought I had the tuition covered. However, my “investors” decided to back out because “circumstances had changed”, and they were only willing to pay for Matt’s education (which I’m entirely grateful for!). So, I didn’t end up going back to school. It was hard to deal with – I was so excited – but at least Matt is in college and we are taking giant leaps in the right direction to a better future.

But, I am determined to get my own education and have a career working a job that I love. Just because I haven’t gotten there yet, doesn’t mean I’m not going to. Right now we are focusing on Matt’s education, because once he graduates and gets a job – everything else will easily fall into place. We’ll have a steady source of income and be able to work towards me getting my education.

I know that Matt comes first right now, but I’ve still been thinking a lot lately in terms of what I want to do with my life. Originally, I wanted to go to school for Medical Office Administration. It would be a job that would put food on the table and pay the bills, but I’m not sure if I see myself doing that…I will do that, because I easily understand computer applications and the medical field is very interesting to me. But…how do you know  if it’s something you want to do forever? I’ve already started college twice for two programs, and dropped out. Maybe I was scared, or maybe I just didn’t have the confidence. Maybe I just wasn’t ready for the demands of college…but my track record isn’t exactly great. I kick myself every day for dropping out (especially out of the first program, Social Service Work, because I did love it and was doing very well in it…)

I’ve been thinking about other options…trying to pin point exactly what field I want to work in. I know that my body would benefit from a less physically demanding job, so I was going to try to pursue a free program in order to get my office administration experience, however this fell through because I couldn’t find a day care that was both affordable and willing to take Nolan on in time for me to start the program. I was discouraged, because money is always a factor for my set backs….this program would give me the work experience, but I would have to pay for day care for the 15 week course and I wouldn’t be making money immediately. We just can’t afford to do that right now.

However, I’ve been considering yet another option…I’m looking into an apprenticeship for Early Childhood Education. I need to get a job and a sponsor at a day care in order to qualify for this college program, but once I have that I will be able to do the apprenticeship. What appeals to me is the fact that it’s a pay by the course program, meaning huge chunks of money are not due each term. And it’s also subsidized, so the theory and placement courses aren’t all that expensive, and you can take the programs during the night or do correspondence. I’ll also get paid for the day care job, so yeah. It sounds too good to be true. Plus, I love kids, and I think it would be a fun job. I think I would enjoy it a lot.

I have booked an appointment next week with the employment agency to get the ball rolling on finding a job in an actual day care, to see if I can get a sponsor and start this program. I am hoping for a part-time position if possible, because I still want to spend as much time with Nolan as I possibly can, but if he had to go in full-time day care, he would love it so I’m not too concerned. I would miss him more than he would miss me. Isn’t that how it usually works out?

I’m not sure if this is what I want to do for the rest of my life – but it’s a start. I’m hoping this all pans out, even if I decide in five years that this isn’t what I want to do, I’ll still have an education and experience to fall back on. This can be my “gateway” career – the one that allows me to save in order to go back to school when I finally figure out for sure what it is that I want to do.

So, my goals:

  • Find a job in a day care and get a sponsor.
  • Get enrolled in the apprenticeship program.

We’ll see what happenings with this…fingers are crossed…

7 Comments

Filed under ed-u-ma-cation, family, just thoughts, me me ME, on young motherhood, uncensored, updates

7 responses to “The one where I discuss my plans for the future and stuff…

  1. I thought I loved my major, until I got a job in the field (sort of) and realized I don’t like it afterall. I’m sucking it up and finishing the courses so I at least have some sort of degree, but I have no idea what I want to be when I grow up.

  2. Pingback: Thankful for: Thursdays at Home, & PJs « The Bottle Chronicles

  3. Blaine

    Fingers crossed!

    I never went to any post secondary schooling because I knew that the only thing I really wanted to do was be a Mom. 🙂 I couldn’t decide on anything else, didn’t want to waste my money, and then there was always the fact that if I went to school and then had kids right after, I’d mist likely end up being out of touch with all of the changes.

    I still don’t know what I want to do. I’ll probably wait until I’m ready to get into things before deciding, too. Your Dad sounds like a smart man. 🙂

  4. i worked in a daycare (mostly specializing with an autistic boy, but also in regular programs) for three years and it was the most eye-opening and humbling experience in my life.

    i wrote about it here:
    http://littleelle.com/2010/06/22/in-which-my-ovaries-explode/

    if it’s something you could picture yourself doing as a career- then go for it. it was amazing. personally it wasn’t the career path i wanted to take, but i’m really glad i worked there for those few years, and got to experience that kind of love and awakening.

    i don’t mean to sound so cheesy, haha… but i loved those kids to the moon and back.

  5. Good luck! It’s a good plan 🙂

  6. My fingers are crossed for you!

    I totally understand not knowing what you want to do. It’s nice that we live in an age where no one has to be “married” to a career — stuck in it forever. Even I don’t want to be a web designer and social media consultant forever. I even thought for a while that I wanted to teach. Recently, I’ve decided I want to pursue my lifelong passion for writing. If I change my mind again? It’s okay — at least, for me it is. I am happy exploring things and learning new things about myself. Your career should be something you enjoy, and you should explore your options. I hope that the ECE works out. You are a great mom and I can see it working for you. If it doesn’t, though, don’t be discouraged. There’s plenty out there for you to try!

    Sending love and positive thoughts your way.

Leave a Reply

