I’m doing it again…

Someone needs to get me away from the Internet. I’ve been on the Ikea website drooling over this:

This may or may not look familiar to you: Matt has that dresser. I want to get a matching one so we can “complete” our bedroom. Well, almost…we’ll need to pick up two end tables too. But don’t worry! I’ve already got them picked out too!

So, basically? The “immediate plan” is to save up enough money to buy the new dresser and end tables and to cover shipping and handling. I sort of want to “complete” our bedroom look sooner rather than later (aka; when we have the dollars for it – don’t worry, we can’t make stupid mistakes because we don’t have a credit card!) because I just know if I hold off for a couple of years, the Hemnes bedroom collection will no longer be there – cause that is just my luck. They’ve already discontinued the dresser I originally wanted (the long one, not the tall one). I’m just lucky it worked out in my favour; they still have the tall one, and it has more drawer space and is about $150 cheaper than the long one. Plus, it’s “apartment” size. When you’re living in apartments (which we will be for the next few years) it’s good to have things that are taller rather than wider, you save on space!

So that’s what we’re saving for right now!

And maybe this

See! I definitely have a problem πŸ™‚

But it’s good to set goals to save towards, right?

So, in order to buy all the products I want from Ikea, and to have them shipped, it would cost $607.98. ($408 if I didn’t include the bookshelf, but I probably WILL because let’s be realistic; go big or go home, and also Ikea charges a ridiculous amount for shipping just one product).

HOLY CRAP.

But, if we save up, it’s not going to “affect our credit” negatively, because credit won’t be involved! πŸ˜‰ yep, I’ve figured out how to use credit finally: just don’t use it. Like, ever.

And, while we’re on the topic of things I want…I’m conflicted! I love our end table lamps that my granny bought us:

But I’m questioning whether or not they’d suit the livingroom collection I want. What do you think? They’re sorta brownish-gray. I have no idea. There’s no way I’d replace our end table lamps because I love them way too much so I’m hoping I’m just colour blind and that they actually would go with the furniture I want.

The good thing about all of this is that I have a long time to decide!

13 Comments

Filed under crazy mama, drooling over, just thoughts, linkage, love love love, me me ME, our home, pictures, the random, um what?

13 responses to “I’m doing it again…

  1. Hi! I don’t think I’ve commented before, but I saw the Hemnes collection and I wanted to say that I have the long dresser and night tables in white and I love them! My aunt and uncle have them in black after seeing how great they looked at my house and they’re beautiful, too, because you can see the wood grain. She complains about dusting, though, because since they’re black dust shows easily…

    Anyway, I wanted to share Ana White’s website (http://ana-white.com/) in case you don’t know about it. She makes her own furniture and shares plans for free so anyone can build it. Seriously, it’s really easy and people save a lot of money! She’s even starting a collection of wooden toys for kids. I’ve only done a table yet, because wood is more expensive here in Spain and I don’t have a lot of free time, but if you want to take a look… http://alittlebiteofeverything.com/2010/08/a-hand-built-farmhouse-table/

    Sorry for the long post!

  2. Oh and about the lamps and living room collection, why don’t you just take a lamp with you to Ikea? People might think you’re crazy, but I think that’s a great way to know for sure! Also, you could change the shades to white or something if you find it’s to much brown-gray and you really really love the tables…

  3. I don’t know if you are aware or not, and I totally commend you for NOT relying on credit, you are going to need it. If you don’t have a strong credit history of at least 5-10 years you’ll have a lot of trouble getting something like a car loan or a mortgage. They’ve changed a lot after all the foreclosures and loan issues of years past and the whole credit/credit score thing (obviously one that fits with your income and all) is super important now.

    • I am aware that credit ratings are important, fear not we have it covered! In Ontario, when you pay your hydro/gas bill in full and on time, it builds your credit just like having a credit card.

      We need to build our credit this way for a bit, before we even qualify for credit cards 😦

  4. i love the hemnes collection!

    my parents have the dresser drawers and the end tables in red in their bedroom and they look so awesome. and i have the yellow hemnes hutch in my dining room. SO awesome. i’d love to upgrade my twenty year old dreser to that one!

  5. cavale

    Why don’t you go thrift shopping? If you have the time you can find something with a lot more style and character than IKEA’s manufactured furniture. Especially if you’re willing to put in the effort to refinish things.

    • I generally do a lot of thrifting, but I really love the Hemnes pieces for our bedroom. Guess it comes down to personal taste…
      I mean, sure, if I found something I loved and wanted to refinish, I would. But so far I love the Hemnes pieces. I’m not close minded to thrifting, but like I said…I want that for our bedroom…

Leave a Reply

