Getting Festive

The last two days have been hectic but incredibly good, my friends. Yesterday was December 1st, and we were finally able to set up our Christmas tree. Matt made me wait for December 1st, even though I was ready to do it last weekend, because he thinks it’s bad luck*. I was patient though, and I deserve a metal for my patience – I didn’t put up one Christmas related thing until December 1st. I will await for my hero cookies.

Anyways, I took tons of pictures of the fun going ons in our household because I am addicted to taking thousands of pictures of the same thing πŸ™‚

Our tree (second-hand from Matt’s amazing mama) is a bit of a pain to put together – every single branch must be put on individually. With help from Nolan, I colour coded and separated each branch and Matt put them on the tree.

Super kitty watched ideally by, not lifting a finger to help but eagerly batting at the branches on the floor and screwing up my colour coded piles. Mean old kitty…clearly, she’s out to drive me insane.

Nolan took a break from helping to watch This Is Emily Yeung. I think he has a crush on her. On second thought, who am I kidding…my kid has a crush on anyone female!

We decorated for well over an hour, taking a break for dinner. Unfortunately, I realized our angel tree topper was MIA and we had to put off finishing decorating until I could pick up a new tree topper (today). We put our little munchkin to bed and Matt and I settled up for “date night” – we watched a couple of shows (Criminal Minds & Supernatural) and drank homemade hot chocolate. Hot chocolate always tastes best when made on the stove top with more milk than water and topped with whipping cream – oh, and when your handsome husband is snuggling you πŸ™‚

Then there was today – which I rocked. Not meaning to “toot my own horn”, so to speak, but I really did rock it. Except for the part when we had to the drivers licensing building to finally change my last name to my married name and set up the stroller, got Nolan inside and got all the way inside and saw the sign that read:

The drivers licensing office has moved to THIS LOCATION RIGHT AROUND THE CORNER FROM YOUR HOUSE AND NOT HALFWAY ACROSS TOWN.

Needless to say, I ditched that errand because I had a million other things to do and there is nothing worse than getting the stroller all set up and the toddler in it only to find it was a waste of time.

Luckily, we were right around the corner from the mall and I was able to grab the tree topper and a few other things as well – including a Christmas gift. We can now cross cousin Mel off our list! Just three more people (and each other…maybe, we’ll see) to buy for!

Then we (as in, Nolan and I) went grocery shopping. I spent the afternoon while Nolan napped cleaning and gearing myself up to make a yummy ham dinner. It was delish! I didn’t follow a recipe, I just sort of winged it and it turned out great. I boiled the potatoes for about 10 minutes before putting them in with the ham so they’d be cooked all the way through, and I left the skins on. I did a glaze of honey mustard, garlic and pineapple, then added a bunch of herbs to the potato and carrots. I put it in the oven at 350 degrees F for an hour and it was heavenly.

While I waited for it to cook, I changed around the table in the kitchen so it’s more “functional” for eating around. What do y’all think?

Personally, I like it a lot better! Before it used to go along that wall, and Matt was always practically sitting in the cat box and I was always practically sitting in the dryer. Now there’s more room, even if it does eat up a little bit of space in the middle of the kitchen. I still have tons of space to work when I’m cooking or baking, and it’s more zen like – to us, anyway.

My friend Miranda came over for dinner, and then to watch Grey’s Anatomy with me. Nolan has a super crush on Miranda as well! After his bath, Matt brought Nolan out to the living room to show Miranda and I the wicked hair style he had going on and he said “love you.” Nolan has said those words to me before, but always after I tell him first. This time, he said it – on his own, not parroting. It was so sweet to hear those words come out of his mouth, even if he was saying them to Miranda!!!

Nolan <3’s Miranda!!

After he confessed his feelings, Nolan put a little show on for us. It was hilarious!

He is such the little dancer; I love it. I love that he was in such a super awesome happy mood tonight (even if he DID throw his dinner at me…he did it with a smile, at least!).

Basically: he just had a wickedly awesome day (and so did I!). After his display, we got him dressed and read him some books before bed. Miranda was impressed with how chill Nolan is at bed times – he doesn’t put up a fuss at all (unless he’s teething), and loves talking to his stuffies before falling asleep.

Matt went out with the boys, and Miranda and I had a lovely girls night and a great time watching Grey’s. After Grey’s, Miranda’s other half – Seth – came by for some dinner (he had just gotten off work). We chit chatted for a bit until they had to leave.

After they left (and I finished watching Private Practice – because apparently I like medical dramas), I took some more pictures of the festive things in our home:

I honestly love looking at our Christmas tree. It’s beautiful!!! It couldn’t be more perfect!

Little snowmen candle holders!

Another snowman candle holder! I need to get some tea lights!


Our Christmas wreath!!

This is what the holiday’s are truly about: time spent with family and good friends, enjoying one another’s company and an excuse to drink hot chocolate every single night πŸ˜‰ I’m looking forward to getting together with my sister-in-law for another roast dinner (date not yet set), and I’m looking forward to going over to Seth and Miranda’s house tomorrow for a sleep over with my wee little family. We’re all going to hang out, maybe have a few beverages and for sure share tons of laughs. I’m lucky that Nolan is so zen about sleeping wherever; so long as he has Kevin his teddy and the unnamed giraffe stuffie, he’s good to go!

And I’m really looking forward to visiting my family down south, just 19 (well, 18 now) more days to go!!

And a pretty little post script:

I know, this post is already super long…but I just wanted to say THANK YOU again to Eddie and Crystal for the package they (and several other of my beautiful twitter friends) sent us last year full of beautiful Christmas tree decorations! Our Christmas tree is absolutely beautiful and I love all the meaning behind each and every one of our ornaments. I love it: and you guys! So thanks, yet again!!! And thank you to everyone else who contributed: I would love to personally thank you all, but I lost the last page to the letter somehow – in between all the moving we’ve done the past year 😦 I’m sorry for that, but thank you truly!

*His personal opinion…I personally don’t think it is! Plus, I’m pretty sure that’s just an excuse to give me so I don’t start decorating for Christmas in August. Hehe.

14 Comments

Filed under adventures, family, good times, linkage, little moments, love love love, mama musings, memories, Nolan, nom nom nom, our home, pictures, rainbows and butterflies, reflecting, shout outs, telling stories, thankful, the beautiful, the good, things I love, this crazy train, this is love, this is my life, tidbits, toddlerhood, updates, what I'm feeling, writing

14 responses to “Getting Festive

  1. reef. WREATH. πŸ˜‰ love you. hehe.

  2. In Spain we always make hot chocolate with milk instead of water – some people even use a bit of butter or cream. I think it tastes way better, especially if you top it with whipped cream like you said. Oh and I love the last picture! We haven’t set up our super small tree yet (it’s like 50cm tall and it’s going to top of a table) but I’m looking forward to it this long weekend, since we have Monday, Tuesday AND Wednesday of, yay!

    • I dislike the hot chocolate at Tim Hortons (or any other place, for that matter) because they ALWAYS mix it with straight hot water. If you ask, they’ll add a shot of milk but it’s nowhere near as creamy and delightful as homemade with milk on the stove top!

      I’m excited to see pictures of your tree πŸ˜€ it sounds adorable! I’d love to get a smaller tree for a table topper, buuut Matt thinks one tree is plenty in this tiny apartment (and he’d be right!)

  3. i love your family SO much!

    i know i’ve mentioned it a million times but every picture of matty with nolan absolutely melts my heart (ovaries). i love seeing young families making it work- and a daddy & husband as involved and inlove with his family as matt is. seriously- it’s so humbling. my pops is my best friend and we’re so close. he was 100% involved in everything my brother and i did, and not because he had to, but because he loved to. i even went to him for all my boy advice and i still tell him everything. seeing matt smile in every picture of him and nolan makes me SO happy.

    uh, i think i’m ovulating because i totally had tears reading this post? hahaha. god dammit woman! all this to say your tree looks amazing, and you, matt, and nolan are so awesome. i can’t wait til you guys come to visit! just a few more months!

    xoxoxox

    – e

    • Your comments always melt my heart and make me feel all warm and fuzzy and gooey inside ❀ and I don't mean the gross kind of gooey but the nice kind of gooey, like melted chocolate! haha.

      I love that Matt is so involved – he ALWAYS does bath night, that's their bonding time. I love listening to them talking and playing around. I get to clean the kitchen of the after dinner mess so he definitely gets the better end of that deal but still hehe ❀

      I'm one lucky girl!

      I can't wait to come visit either! ❀

  4. Are those the purple lights I sent you? Kickass! It’s so cool to see everything on the tree!

    Your house looks so cozy. It makes me so impatient for when Mike and I have our own place. I wish you could go shopping with me for house decorations.

    I can’t believe how big Nolan is getting. My internet went out while I was reading the post before this one, so I couldn’t comment at the time, but holy canoli, he really is almost a little person and not a baby anymore! I love his inquisitive personality. He’s going to be something amazing when he grows up!

    • These are different lights that were included in the box, YOUR kickass purple lights are awaiting garland because they are indoor/outdoor lights and I want to put them on the railing outside!! I was going to buy said garland (and a Christmas tree skirt!) after babysitting on Friday but she bailed on me so I have to wait until this week 😦

      He definitely has an inquisitive personality! My lordy he never sits still LOL!

      I wish I could go shopping with you for house decorations too, and I can’t wait until you and Mike get your own place – then I can read all the lovely posts you write about decorating! And as for decorations, I didn’t buy any but I was looking in Walmart and they have A LOT of nice ones! Also nice: Winners. I die in Winners every time I go, they ALWAYS have great stuff!

  5. Beautiful! I got to get my act together and decorate my home. The hubs is traumatized from last year so it’s a bit of an uphill battle! LOL

  6. I’m so glad to see that everything is working out with the decorations! To be entirely honest, I can’t remember who all contributed. I know some folks sent stuff on their own to ensure that it made it, and others shipped stuff to us to send along, and all those *really* nice ones in their own special boxes came from a woman that Eddie works with who was just getting rid of stuff (he actually set up a little box with a note asking for tree things). I know that’s I’m responsible for the lights, the stuffed reindeer, and the non-holiday stuff I tossed into the box (the shell, and I think I put a crocheted cupcake that I’d made in there?)

  7. ed

    i’m glad you liked everything in the box. alot came from co-workers like crystal said. its pretty awesome when people can get together to help spread some christmas cheer!

    yay you!!

Leave a Reply

