Little Miss Traditional

Yesterday, my wonderful landlady/neighbor/friend brought over a Christmas present for me, a book called Traditional Christmas: Cooking, Crafts & Gifts. I absolutely love it, I spent all last night going through it and picking out little projects to do. Yes, some of it is a little dated (as it’s an older book), but the best thing about traditional Christmas’ are that they don’t get old. I’ve always loved the look of a traditional Christmas: how warm and cozy it is, how it sets you back to your own childhood.

This year isn’t the year for me to go nuts on decorating, what with my husband in college full-time, so I’ve reigned myself in. A lot. Matt would say otherwise, but he’s in for a shocker next year when I break out the guns super early. Poor Matt: he’s really not into going all nuts with traditional decorations and Christmas related stuff. He’s a bit of a humbug, it’s just not his thing. He doesn’t mind setting up the tree, and doing stockings. He absolutely loves to watch Nolan open his presents on Christmas morning. But…decorating just isn’t his forte. He’d rather I not go nuts. He doesn’t like traditional style because, to him, it’s old. To me, it’s timeless. I love that you can still have homemade ornaments on your traditional Christmas tree because they just fit. In my opinion, a lot of the more modern style Christmas themes would look silly or off with personalized ornaments.

So, somehow, we have to come to a common ground.

Not this year though, this year we’re done decorating (save for the Christmas tree skirt – which I’m going to pick up from the Dollarstore). I’m more or less talking about next year.

I’ve already picked several ideas for next year. I love the look of ribbon in the tree, and next year I’ll find some ribbon that will compliment the traditional look πŸ™‚

I also want to make a centerpiece for our table. I really like the idea of a wreath centerpiece.

I want to make a homemade tree skirt, too!

Of course: to do (most of) the little projects I want to do, I’ll need this:

So that, along with a new camera (anything that works at this point! Mine is dying slowly of old age…poor thing), are the two biggest things I want for Christmas (or Valentine’s Day, or my birthday, or our anniversary, OR next Christmas…).

Matt thought I was kidding when I said I wanted to learn how to sew. He’d be wrong: I so want to learn! I can see myself sewing Nolan’s Halloween costumes, and decorations for Christmas. I can see myself sewing curtains and pillows and all those silly little homely things that I never thought I’d care about, let alone want to make.

Since when did I become so…domesticated?

11 Comments

Filed under drooling over, family, good times, just thoughts, life as I know it, little moments, little projects, love love love, mama musings, me me ME, on young motherhood, our home, plans & such, rainbows and butterflies, telling stories, the random, tidbits, updates

11 responses to “Little Miss Traditional

  1. Blaine

    That book sounds awesome, I might have to try to find it, even at the library. πŸ˜€

    I have a small crappy sewing machine (cheap one from wal-mart) I got a few years ago, and I’ve managed to sew a few things, but mostly just frustrated the heck out of myself, since I don’t know what I’m doing (literally had my computer open to ‘how-to-sew’ sites. πŸ™‚ ) and don’t have a dedicated space for it, so setting it up on the table ends up being in the way in minutes. 😦

    I feel the same way, though. If I knew what I was doing, I’d be sewing us new curtains, sewing Eric a pillow case for the pillows I want to make (by cutting one in half for him. :D), making baby blankets out of the scraps I bought from Allyzabba, (which is on the TO DO SOON list, since we’ve got less than 3 months to go!) amongst all of the other stuff I want to make. So. Much. Stuff. I wish my Grandma or my Aunt lived in town here, I’d totally be paying them to teach me!

    The whole domestic thing sure sneaks up on you, sort of. I always knew I wanted to be a stay at home mom and cook dinner for my hubby and family, etc, etc, but didn’t know I’d want to learn to sew, knit, etc. πŸ˜€

    I love the ribbon instead of garland on the tree, too. I think I’m going to see if the $ Store has much for thick, seasonal colours, and try to figure out how much I’d have to buy… lol Might have to wait for next year, too.

    P.S. “He doesn’t mind setting up the tree, and doing stalkings.” I usually refuse to point out any grammar or spelling mistakes on any websites/blogs because, well, I think it’s rude and it makes me feel like an ass, but I’m willing to feel like an ass today, because that one made me LOL!

    So Matt stalks people, does he? And only at Christmas? πŸ˜‰

  2. I know what you mean! I’ve been super domestic recently. I even handmade my Christmas cards this year, because I felt the urge to craft something.

  3. ignotus mulier

    i love to sew. i have an old sewing machine from sears and was going to replace it last month with something new and fabulous but then long story short the store upset me and i decided it could wait. i wish i was a better sewer but it really can be relaxing. i have a tonne of projects to finish by christmas and no time to do them. maybe if i didn’t spend so much time online… ha! like i could restrict myself from my laptop. not likely. i actually can’t wait to be a stay at home mom and be able to make things for my little ones. someday. lol.

    • ignotus mulier

      so i just realised that “sewer – one who sews” and “sewer – channel for waste transportation” are spelled the same with very different meanings. yea, i’m the first one. just wanted to be clear on that. i don’t wish to be a better channel for waste. at all.

  4. I don’t think crafting or sewing makes a person domestic; I know people who craft and sew but aren’t domestic, and vice versa. I’d love to learn how to make my own clothes — or at least some of my own clothes — because I think I could design some kickass threads. It would be really awesome to have a shirt or skirt that no one else in the world has. I also make my own cards. And I am the farthest creature from domestic. Heh.

    My Noni makes decorations in the traditional style. She’s actually been at a craft fair all weekend. I wish I had some pictures to show you, because you’d love her stuff!

    Oh! And because I’m a crazy person… You used the word “homely” to describe a traditional Christmas. I hate to be the freak to point this out, but homely means ugly.

    • lol, I didn’t mean sewing made me domestic, I meant I was FEELING domestic…lmao! Take some pictures for me? I’d love to see your Noni’s decorations!

      Gosh, you and Blaine are definitely on my back lately about grammatical errors and word choices 😦 lol I use homely to also describe something that feels like home, even though it’s not the actual description. I don’t think there IS a description for “feels like home” other than “feels like home” haha

      • I always feel like a douche when correcting someone. Sorry about that. Like I said, I am crazy. I just have a love affair with words. Maybe the words “homey” or “cozy” would work. I hate when you want to get an idea across but can’t explain it in a different way than normal, like “feels like home.” There need to be more words! I brought a short story to my writers’ group on Thursday, and they wanted me to use a different description for “that pins and needles feeling.” I know the phrase “pins and needles” is cliche, but it gets the point across quickly! So now I’m trying to figure something else out, because they’re right, but it’s still hard to think of something new.

        Anyway. Sorry if I made you feel bad. ):

  5. dan is the same way – he doesn’t have a family so he doesn’t really know the joys of christmas. it’s mostly annoying and unsettling for him. and now that he’s dating me- someone who is totally obsessed with family, tradition, and christmas… i think he’s having a bit of a hard time wrapping his head around it. he’s used to finding the only bar that’s open in our neighbourhood, and getting drunk with his best friend. he’s trying, really he is, but i know it bothers him and he’d rather we don’t celebrate it at all. HMPH 😦

    i’m not huge on decorating- i have a fake tree with coloured lights and beer cans as ornaments. i also put some lights in the front window. but that’s about it. festive, huh?

    last year andy and i had some friends over and we made construction paper garlands and laura helped us make origami birds- and that’s all we had.

    i like it simple!

    also, my dad’s stepmum bought me a secondhand sewing machine for like, $100 when i was thirteen and i taught myself. i’m no pro but i can make simple things like curtains, pillows, etc. i’ve hemmed a bunch of pants or altered shirts. it’s definitely been super handy.

    when i was drinking 40s when i was thirteen and smoking pot in alleyways and sewing my own patched skirts i definitely didn’t FEEL domesticated, but it’s definitely a domesticated-type-activity. but now that i’m grown up and i’ve lived in a few houses, when i bust out my sewing machine, or cook a meal from scratch, or do things like decorate a christmas tree, yes, i totally feel domesticated, so i know what you mean, honey πŸ˜‰

    also- i loved this post, i think you got your message across perfectly.

    xo

  6. Pingback: Pictures of Our Christmas Festivities | The Bottle Chronicles

Leave a Reply

