Thank Goodness for…

My husband. I honestly don’t know what I would do without him! He is such a remarkable man, and I’m not just saying that because he knows my blog URL {because he hardly ever reads this blog}. I’m saying this because I don’t often write about how amazing he is, not in great depth anyway.

Every day, I fall more in love with this man. It’s the small things, people, like the way he looks at me, and the way he looks at our son. He’s such an amazing father, and cherishes every moment he gets to spend with Nolan.

I remember the first day night we met, that super awesome fun night at Shannon’s in early February. I had seen him before a few times, and always thought he was hot. But that night, as stupid as it sounds, I knew I was going to marry him. It was a regular Friday night for me, I was drunk {oh lord, do I ever sound bad ass} and in the mood to party. My friends Bruce and Robyn and I all headed over to my older sisters house, since she lived in a super fun area and usually had random Friday night get togethers. She called a bunch of her neighbors down so we could all party it up, and that’s when he walked in. He was wearing a fedora. I have never met anyone who pulled off the fedora without looking gay. He just looked sexy! Like a punk rock rebel bad ass. I was instantly attracted to him, and flirted heavily with him. He tried to play hard to get, but I thought I could tell he was interested. Of course, I wasn’t convinced…I knew there was a possibility that my drunk ass self was just imagining a connection that wasn’t there. But that possibility was small, because Matt and I danced {and drank} the night away! When I finally crawled into my sister’s spare bed with my friend Robyn, I drunkenly declared that I was going to marry that boy. I think Robyn laughed at me ~ not in the yeah right bitch way, but in the awh you’re so adorable way. She’s awesome like that, and she also told me the next morning that he totally was all over me the night before {and that it wasn’t, indeed, in my head!}.

I didn’t see him again until later that month {although we had a “Friends For Sale” relationship on Facebook, he kept buying me}. In the meantime, I was doing what I do best…partying with friends, having a good time, getting my lip pierced. I wasn’t a major partier, but I did go through a couple of months {from December – February} where I was “more social” than I usually was. I wasn’t making great decisions. I wasn’t making bad ones per say, but they just weren’t…great. Looking back, I should have had a part time job, or focused on figuring out what I wanted to do with my life {thus really thinking over the decision to take Dental Reception when I hate teeth}.

The next time I saw Matt was at Shannon’s Jack and Jill…boy, what a blast. I was taking tickets at the door when he showed up, sans the fedora this time but looking sexy non-the-less. I flirted with him at the door, and then he offered to buy me a drink. One drink turned into two, which turned into three, which turned into an entire tray of jello shooters…which, in retrospect, turned out to be a fabulous idea. I ended up wearing a kissing booth costume, as one of the little ploys to raise money for the bride and groom.

And that’s when we had our first kiss. It was magically, no really, it was. Matt is a fabulous kisser! The night our courtship started, although he didn’t officially ask me out until the 25th of February.

As [most of] my long time readers know, Matt and I had a whirlwind relationship. Things progressed super fast. After all, I knew that I was going to marry him the day I met him. But in all seriousness; we just belong together. We didn’t plan on getting pregnant when we did, but we did plan on getting a place together and one day getting married so when we saw those two positive lines, we knew that we were going to keep the baby and do this parenting thing together. We knew it would be hard, but we couldn’t imagine how hard it would be!

We both had a lot of growing up to do, and we both did a lot of growing up. I never doubted Matt’s ability to be a father, even if his “resume” didn’t look good. When we found out we were pregnant, neither of us had jobs. I was in school and Matt was just chilling. But he went out and landed a job, and even if it wasn’t a great job it was a great stepping stone. In the past three years of being together, Matt has gone worked his way up from dish pit boy, to inbound call agent, to gas bar attendant, to general laborer for a Masonry company, to full-time college student and part-time fusion welder {his first day was today!}. He has done so much to ensure that our little family thrives. I am so proud to be his wife, I am so thankful that I get to be the woman he does this all for. Every day he tells me that Nolan and I are his inspiration and drive.

Not only has he been a fantastic provider for us and is doing amazing in college for us, but Matt is also a 100% involved parent. He also treats me like a queen: he makes me tea, gives me massages and tells me I’m beautiful a billion times a day.

See? He’s awesomesauce. Cheers to you, babe, you really are the sauce to my spaghetti! ❤

11 Comments

Filed under family, good times, just thoughts, linkage, love love love, memories, pictures, telling stories, thankful, the beautiful, the good, things I love, this is love, tidbits, what I'm feeling

11 responses to “Thank Goodness for…

  1. ignotus mulier

    this is just so sweet. just awe, that is all

  2. yay for love!! and being young and growing together. 😀
    I’m so proud of your little family! You are definitely doing it right! ❤

  3. This is post is so sweet! He is also lucky as #E- hockey sticks to have a wife as sweet and appreciative as you!

  4. Rushabh Mehta

    Really, heart touching blog.ur blog is an inspiration for those who r not in love but wanted to fall in love with his/her special one……

  5. He really is a wonderful dude. You guys are amazing together. xo

Leave a Reply

